News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Punjab assembly polls results 2017: As it happened

Congress was heading towards forming the government in Punjab. With his party receiving a drubbing, Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal said he would be submitting his resignation to the Governor on Sunday.

Punjab assembly polls results 2017: As it happened

Chandigarh: The Congress was surging towards a clear majority in Punjab on Saturday with its candidates winning 64 of the 117 Assembly seats. The counting of votes for Punjab Poll Results 2017/Punjab Election 2017 is still underway.

Election LIVE updates:

Congress's Gurjit Singh Aujla wins bypolls to Amritsar Lok Sabha seat, defeats BJP'S Rajinder Mohan Singh Chhina by 1,99,189 votes: PTI

AAP takes second spot at 20 seats, SAD-BJP alliance gets just 18 seats, new outfit Lok Insaaf Party wins 2 in Punjab assembly polls: PTI

Congress wins 77 seats in 117-member Punjab assembly, one short of two-thirds majority: PTI

This is very humbling and overwhelming. Gratitude to the people of #India for the continued faith, support and affection for the BJP. Am overjoyed that BJP has received unprecedented support from all sections of society. Huge support from the youth is gladdening: PM Modi

The outcome of five assembly polls is very encouraging. Despite defeat in Punjab, our alliance has got over 30 percent votes: Amit Shah

Congress gets majority in 117-member Punjab Assembly, wins 59 seats, leading in 18 other seats

PM Narendra Modi speaks to Congress leader Amarinder Singh to congratulate him on electoral victory in Punjab: PTI

Result Status at 4:30 pm: Congress races ahead with 69 seats and leads in 9.
Final tally of AAP: 20; SAD: 14; BJP: 3; Lok Insaaf Party: 2

BJP candidate Saurav Bahuguna, son of Vijay Bahuguna, won Sitarganj, defeating Malti Biswas of the Congress with a margin of 28,540 votes.

Deshraj Karanwal of the BJP emerged victorious in Jhabreda seat by defeating the Congress' Rajpal Singh with a margin of 2,253 votes.

BJP's Mukesh Singh Koli won Pauri seat by defeating Congress' Naval Kishore by 7,030 votes.

Furkan Ahmad of the Congress defeated BJP's Daibhagwan by 1,439 votes to win PiranKaliyar seat.

Kazi Mohammad Nizamuddin of the Congress defeated BSP's Sarbat Karim Ansari by 2,668 votes to win Manglore seat.

BJP's Pradip Batra won Roorkee seat, defeating Congress' Suresh Chandra Jain by a margin of 12,542 votes.

Yashpal Arya of the BJP won Bajpur by defeating Sunita Tamta of the Congress with a margin of 12,636 votes.

Mamta Rakesh of the Congress defeated BJP' Subodh Rakesh by 2,513 votes to win Bhagwanpur seat.

Suresh Rathore won Jwalapur seat by defeating Congress' S P Singh Engineer by a margin of 4,788 votes.

BJP's Chander Ram Das won Bageshwar, defeating Congress' Balkishan with a margin of 14,567 votes.

Congress candidate Harish Singh won Dharchula defeating BJP's Virender Singh Pal with a margin of 3,085 votes.

BJP's Vishan Singh Chufal defeated Independent Kishan Bhandari by 2368 votes in Didihat.

Gadarpur seat went to BJP's Arvind Pandey who defeated Congress' Rajendra Pal Singh with a margin of 14,106 votes. Sanjay Gupta of the BJP won Laksar seat by defeating Haji Tasleem Ahmad with a margin of 1604 votes.

Naveen Chandra Dumka of BJP defeating Congress's Harish Chandra Durgapal by 27,108 votes to win Lalkuwa seat.

Kunwar Pranav Singh Champion defeated Mufti Riyasat Ali of the BSP with a margin of 13,735 votes in Khanpur.

Surendra Singh Negi of the BJP won Karnaprayag seat, defeating Anusuya Prasad Maikhuri with a margin of 2,280 votes.

Balawant Singh Bhouriyal of the BJP won Kapkot seat defeating Lalit Farwan of the Congress by 5,982 votes.

Sukhbir Badal wins Jalalabad seat.

EC data at 4 pm: Congress heads for a two-third majority - Congress wins 67 and lead in 11 seats. Final tally of SAD and BJP - 14 and 3 seats respectively.

According to EC data at 3:30 pm: Congress continues its dream run. Secures 64 seats and leading in 14.
AAP bags 19 and leading in one. SAD and BJP which lost the elections managed to get 14 and three seats respectively.

EC at 3:00 pm: Congress wins 50 seats and leading in 20. AAP bags 18 and leading in three. SAD manges to bag 12 and leads in two seats.

EC at 2:30 pm: Congress wins 47 and leading in 29. AAP bags 16 and leading in five. SAD manges to bag six and leads in eight seats.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulates Captain Amarinder Singh for Congress' superb win.

"Spoke to @capt_amarinder & congratulated him on the win in Punjab. Also wished him a happy birthday & prayed for his long & healthy life," PM Modi tweets.

Punjab Result Status at 2 pm: Congress wins 31 leads in 46. AAP bags 12, leads in 9.
SAD and BJP win 2 each.

According to EC data at 1:30 pm: Congress wins 20 seats, leads in 59. AAP bags 8, leads in 12. SAD opens account by grabbing one seat and leading in 12.

Punjab CM Parkash Singh Badal accepts defeat, to resign tomorrow.

Latest trends: EC data says Congress has bagged 12 and leading in 64 seats. AAP has won three and leading in 19. SAD and BJP are leading in 14 and three seats respectively.

Congress Punjab head and its Chief Ministerial candidate Captain Amarinder Singh credits the party's stellar electoral performance to party president Sonia Gandhi and her son Rahul Gandhi.

Captain Amarinder Singh has won from Patiala urban seat by a margin of over 51000 votes.

The AAP says it was disappointed it did not win the Punjab assembly election but added that even becoming the main opposition was an achievement.

EC says Congress wins four assembly seats leading in 70, AAP bags one, leads in 20.

According to Election Commission Congress has won four seats and leading in 72. AAP, SAD and BJP are leading in in 22, 15, 4 seats respectively.

Latest trends from Punjab: Congress way ahead in 70 Assembly seats, AAP 23, SAD+BJP 21, Others 3

AAP candidate Harvinder Singh Phoolka trailing from Dakha.

Latest trends from Punjab: Congress-66, AAP-23, SAD+BJP-27, Other-1

Congress leader and CM candidate Amarinder Singh trailing from Lambi.

AAP candidate Bhagwant Mann trailing from Jalalabad.

Punjab Election 2017 Result Live updates: Congress's Navjot Singh Sidhu leading from Amritsar East seat

Punjab Election Results: Trends show AAP's Gurpreet Singh Ghughi leading from Batala.

Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal ahead of his nearest Congress rival Capt Amarinder Singh by a margin of 1,245 votes in Lambi seat.

Bhadaur (Reserve) assembly segment - AAP's Pirmal Singh Tohra takes an early lead.

Punjab Deputy Chief Minister and Shiromani Akali Dal President Sukhbir Singh Badal trails from the Jalalabad Assembly seat.

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) MP Bhagwant Mann is leading. The other candidate in the race is Congress MP Ravneet Singh Bittu.

Congress leading on four seats followed by SAD on three seats. Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) AAP ahead on one seat in Punjab, as per early trends.

Punjab Cabinet Minister Bikram Singh Majithia ahead in Majitha seat by a margin of 1,126 votes over his nearest Congress rival.

In Hargobindpur seat, Balwinder Singh Laddi of Congress has taken the lead, while AAP's Kulwant Singh is ahead in Mehal Kalan seat.