News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

U-19 World Cup: India won because of Rahul Dravid but we had no one, say dejected Pak fans

The Indian cricket team defeated Pakistan by a whopping 203 runs to storm into the final of U-19 Cricket World Cup.

U-19 World Cup: India won because of Rahul Dravid but we had no one, say dejected Pak fans
Photo courtesy: Twitter/@cricketworldcup

New Delhi: The Indian U-19 cricket team did not just win a semifinal match on Tuesday to set up a summit clash against Australia but decimated a hapless Pakistan unit. In what was the biggest margin of win at the age group level, the 203-run win triumph left not just the Pakistani cricketers demoralised but Pakistani fans downright dejected. Some said having Rahul Dravid as a coach helped Indians while no prominent face was there to mentor the Pakistani boys. 

India won the toss and opted to bat - going on to score 272/9 courtesy Shubham Gill's 102*. Ishan Porel then bowled a torrid spell of six overs to claim four wickets and knock out the opposition from the tournament. While the players indeed stepped up and performed to impress, coach Rahul Dravid has indeed played a pivotal role in making the team what it is today. Under his guidance, the team had managed to reach the final in the last edition of the tournament as well - coming out second best however. This year once again, the Indian team entered the tournament as favourites thanks to enormous talent as well as the superb guidance of Dravid.

It is this guidance that Pakistani fans feel their team lacks. Head coach of the team in Mansoor Rana has played all of two ODIs, scored 15 runs and taken no wickets. He has played no Test match at international level. Many took to social media to vent their frustration. Several even blamed former international Pakistani cricketers for not volunteering to help the U-19 team out.






Many Indians also commended Dravid for his dedication towards coaching the team.







India will face Australia in the final on February 3.