Jharkhand municipal, nagar panchayat, nagar nigam polls: Full list of winners

The elections to the local bodies in Jharkhand witnessed a triangular fight between Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Congress and the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha.

Jharkhand municipal, nagar panchayat, nagar nigam polls: Full list of winners

RANCHI: In a big boost to Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his chief election strategist and party president Amit Shah, the ruling BJP on Friday won all the five municipal corporations and registered thumping victories in Nagar Parishad and Nagar Panchayat polls in Jharkhand. 

The victory holds significance for BJP since it was the first time that the polls were held on party lines in Jharkhand. While BJP's Asha Lakra won the Mayor's post for the Ranchi Municipal Corporation, Sanjiv Vijayavergiya won the deputy Mayor's post, State Election Commissioner NN Pandey told a press conference after counting of the votes.

While Lakra defeated Jharkhand Mukti Morcha's Varsha Gaadi, Vijayavergiya trounced Congress' Rajesh Kumar Gupta. Roshni Tirkey won the Mayor's post in Hazaribagh Municipal Corporation defeating Gunja Devi of the Congress and Raj Kumar Lal won the Deputy Mayor's post by trouncing Anand Dev of Congress.

In Giridih, Sunil Kumar Paswan won the Mayoral post beating Congress's Samir Raj Choudhary while Prakash Ram won the Deputy Mayor's post by defeating Mohammad Istiak of the Congress. In Adityapur Municipal Corporation, Vinod Srivastav defeated Congress's Yogendra Sharma for the post of Mayor while Amit Singh won Deputy Mayor's post defeating Manoj Mahto of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha.

For Medininagar Municipal Corporation, Aruna Shankar defeated independent candidate Punam Singh to win the Mayor's post, Rakesh Kumar Singh defeated Congress's Manoj Singh for the post of Deputy Mayor. The BJP also performed well in the Nagar Parishad and Nagar Panchayat polls. The BJP also performed well in the Nagar Parishad and Nagar Panchayat polls. The party won seven posts of president and five vice president in 16 Nagar Parishads. 

The opposition parties - JMM and Congress - managed to win four and two president posts respectively, and two and three of vice president posts, respectively. In Nagar Panchayat elections, the BJP won nine president and five vice president posts of the total of 14 Nagar Panchayats. 

The elections were held for five Municipal Corporations (Nagar Nigam), 16 Municipal Councils (Nagar Parishad) and 13 Nagar Panchayats in Jharkhand on April 16. Bypolls were also held at four local bodies – Jhumri Tilaiya, Deoghar, Dhanbad and Bishrampur. 

The election to the local bodies in Jharkhand witnessed a triangular fight between Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Congress and the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha led by Shibu Soren, which has a strong voter base in the tribal regions. The outcome of the local body polls is being seen as a curtain raiser for the assembly elections in Jharkhand in 2019. 

An overall voter turnout of 65.15 percent was recorded in the Jharkhand civic body polls, according to the State Election Commission figures. As compared to the voting in 2017, 1.98 percent more votes were polled this time. The lowest voter turnout was recorded in Ranchi Municipal Corporation, which is the state’s largest urban local body.

Here are the results of the Jharkhand local body polls.

Here is the party-wise position in Jharkhand local body elections 2018.

Here is the full list of winners across the state in Jharkhand municipal, nagar panchayat, nagar nigam elections 2018 ( Nikay Chunav 2018).

Local Body Mayor (Party) Deputy Mayor (Party)
Adityapur Nagar Nigam Vinod Srivastava (BJP) Amit Singh (BJP)
Hazaribagh Nagar Nigam Roshni Tirki (BJP) Rajkumar Lal (BJP)
Giridih Nagar Nigam Sunil Paswan (BJP) Prakash Ram (BJP)
Modinagar Nagar Nigam Aruna Shankar (BJP) Rakesh Kumar (BJP)
Ranchi Nagar Nigam Asha Lakra (BJP) Sanjeev Vijayavargiya (BJP)

The 13 Nagar Panchayats that went to polls are: Nagaruntari Nagar Panchayat, Garhwa District; Hussainabad Nagar Panchayat, Palamu District; Chhattarpur Nagar Panchayat, Palamu District; Latehar Nagar Panchayat, Latehar District; Domchanch Nagar Panchayat, Koderma District; Rajmahal Nagar Panchayat, Sahibganj District; Barharwa Nagar Panchayat, Sahibganj District; Basukinath Nagar Panchayat, Dumka District; Jamtara Nagar Panchayat, Jamtara District; Khunti Nagar Panchayat, Khunti District; Bundu Nagar Panchayat, Ranchi District; Saraikela Nagar Panchayat, Saraikela-Kharsawan District; Chakulia Nagar Panchayat, Purbi Singhbhum District.

Nagar Panchayat President Vice-President
Nagar Utari Nagar Panchayat Vijaylaxmi (BJP) Lata Devi (IND)
Hussainabad Nagar Panchayat    
Chhatarpur Nagar Panchayat    
Latehar Nagar Panchayat Sitamani Devi (BJP)  
Domchanch Nagar Panchayat Raj Kumar Mehta (AJSU) Pappu Mehta (RJD)
Rajmahal Nagar Panchayat   Partho Datta (BJP)
Barharwa Nagar Panchayat Shyamlal Das (BJP) Lokesh Kushwaha (BJP)
Basukinath Nagar Panchayat    
Jamtara Nagar Panchayat Rina Kumari (BJP) Chandi Charan (BJP)
Khunti Nagar Panchayat Arjun Pahan (BJP)  
Bundu Nagar Panchayat Rajesh Uranv (BJP) Sunil Jaiswal (AJSU)
Saraikela Nagar Panchayat Minakshi Patnaik (BJP) Manoj Chowdhry (JMM)
Chakuliya Nagar Panchayat Sandhya Rani Sardar (BJP)  

The Nagar Parishads where polling was held were: Garhwa Nagar Parishad, Garhwa District; Chatra Nagar Parishad, Chatra District; Madhupur Nagar Parishad, Deoghar District; Godda Nagar Parishad, Godda District; Sahibganj Nagar Parishad, Sahibganj District; Pakur Nagar Parishad, Pakur District; Dumka Nagar Parishad, Dumka District; Mihijam Nagar Parishad, Jamtara District; Chirkunda Nagar Parishad, Dhanbad District; Phusro Nagar Parishad, Bokaro District; Ramgarh Nagar Parishad, Ramgarh District; Lohardaga Nagar Parishad, Lohardaga District; Gumla Nagar Parishad, Gumla District; Simdega Nagar Parishad,  Simdega District; Chaibasa Nagar Parishad, Paschimi Singhbhum District; Kapali Nagar Parishad, Saraikela-Kharsawan district.

Nagar Parishad President Vice-President
Garhwa Nagar Parishad Pinki Kesri (BJP)  
Chatra Nagar Parishad Gunja Devi (BJP) Sudesh Kumar (JVM)
Madhupur Nagar Parishad    
Godda Nagar Parishad Guddu Mandal (Ind) Benu Devi (JVM)
Sahibganj Nagar Parishad Srinivas Yadav (BJP) Ramanand Shah (BJP)
Pakur Nagar Parishad Sampa Saha (BJP) Sunil Sinha (BJP)
Dumka Nagar Parishad    
Mihijam Nagar Parishad Kamal Gupta (BJP) Shanti Devi (Congress)
Chirkunda Nagar Parishad Dablu Bauri (BJP)  
Phusro Nagar Parishad   Chhedi Nuniya (Congress)
Ramgarh Nagar Parishad    
Lohardaga Nagar Parishad Anupama Bhagat (Congress) Rauf Ansari (Congress)
Gumla Nagar Parishad Deepnarayan Uranv (Congress) Kalim Akhtar (JMM)
Simdega Nagar Parishad Pushpa Kullu (Congress) Omprakash Sahu (BJP)
Chaibasa Nagar Parishad Mithilesh Kumar Thakur (JMM) Doma Minj (JMM)
Kapali Nagar Parishad    

Congratulating party members for the huge win in Jharkhand municipal elections, CM Raghubar Das gave the credit of Bharatiya Janata Party's victory to Prime Minister Narendra Modi and party president Amit Shah. "This is the victory of PM Modi's policies and Amit Shah's guidance," he tweeted soon after the results were out. He also said that the people of the state know that the party supports developmental politics. He added that the BJP's sole purpose is - the overall development of Jharkhand.