News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Indian National Congress

Pre-poll defections: India's politics is looking more and more like its IT sector

Naive idealism of the Independence movement and the Emergency era are now a thing of the past.

Mar 19, 2019, 16:41 PM IST

Punjab Zila Parishad and Panchayat samiti election results: Congress leads, SAD second

A total of 354 zila parishad and 2,900 panchayat samiti members are in the fray.

Sep 22, 2018, 08:13 AM IST

RSS unites with Congress, condemns fake images of Pranab Mukherjee at Sangh HQ

Days like this don't come often.

Jun 08, 2018, 17:49 PM IST

Author Chetan Bhagat creates buzz on social media by tweeting 'joining Congress'; has the last laugh

Chetan Bhagat tweeted on Sunday that he intended 'to join the Congress party'. 

Apr 02, 2018, 00:11 AM IST

PM Narendra Modi's witty comeback to Congress leader Renuka Chowdhury had Rajya Sabha in splits

PM Modi on Wednesday responded to the Congress's dismissal of his government as a 'name-changer' and not a 'game-changer'. 

Feb 07, 2018, 17:06 PM IST

Congress, Left accuse Trinamool Congress of practising 'soft Hindutva'

State BJP president Dilip Ghosh said the TMC had realised that it would no longer be able to win elections just by appeasing the Muslims.

Jan 11, 2018, 13:15 PM IST

No-trust vote against Raman Singh government defeated after 19-hour debate

As many as 48 members voted against the motion while 38 polled in its favour. In the 90-member House, BJP has 49 members, Congress 39, BSP one and an independent.

Dec 23, 2017, 19:26 PM IST

Rahul Gandhi chairs first CWC meeting as Congress president

Rahul Gandhi faces major challenges next year as the party has to prevent the BJP from wresting Karnataka,

Dec 22, 2017, 17:40 PM IST

Congress doubts functioning of EVMs in Gujarat Assembly Elections, may move HC

On Tuesday, a day after the Gujarat election results were declared, a senior official of the election machinery had said there was a "100 percent match" in a random vote count on EVMs and paper trail slips.

Dec 21, 2017, 23:55 PM IST

Congress has returned a morale-boosting performance in Gujarat under Rahul Gandhi: Chidambaram

BJP clinched the Gujarat Assembly polls sixth time in a row on Monday, winning 99 seats in the 182-member House.

Dec 19, 2017, 00:50 AM IST

Assembly election results 2017: Here what PM Modi, Union Ministers, BJP leaders said

BJP came back to power in 1998 in Gujarat and has ruled uninterrupted since then.

Dec 18, 2017, 23:48 PM IST

Gujarat Assembly elections 2017: BJP wiped out in Amreli and Gir Somnath districts

The BJP on Monday won Gujarat for the sixth successive time.

Dec 18, 2017, 23:14 PM IST

Watch: Here is the slogan PM Modi asked BJP workers to raise after election victories in Gujarat, Himachal

PM Modi on Monday said that Assembly elections in Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh had underlined the people's acceptance of his government's reforms.

Dec 18, 2017, 23:05 PM IST

Himachal Pradesh Assembly elections 2017: NOTA gets more votes than national party BSP

The NOTA option enables a voter to officially and secretly register a vote of rejection of all contesting candidates.

Dec 18, 2017, 21:54 PM IST

Gujarat Assembly elections 2017: NOTA emerges third largest vote getter

BJP on Monday won the Gujarat Assembly polls for a record sixth straight victory.

Dec 18, 2017, 21:05 PM IST

Gujarat Assembly elections 2017: Five BJP ministers who lost to Congress candidates

Even though BJP came back to power in Gujarat, five ministers in the state government lost the Assembly polls on Monday to Congress candidates.

Dec 18, 2017, 20:18 PM IST

BJP back to power in Himachal Pradesh, questions remain on CM as Prem Kumar Dhumal loses

Sitting incumbent Virbhadra Singh won with a handsome margin from Arki.

Dec 18, 2017, 11:09 AM IST

Himachal Pradesh Election Results 2017: Prem Kumar Dhumal trailing in Sujanpur – Live updates

Prem Kumar Dhumal vs Rajender Rana in Sujanpur – Live updates

Dec 18, 2017, 07:12 AM IST

Himachal Pradesh Election Results 2017: Will Virbhadra Sigh win from Arki – Live updates

The Election Commission will declare the Himachal Pradesh Assembly Election Results 2017 on Monday.

Dec 18, 2017, 07:06 AM IST

BJP poised to take power in Himachal Pradesh

The BJP looks set to wrest power from the Congress in Himachal Pradesh as it was leading in over 40 seats while the ruling party bagged one seat and was leading in 21 others, according to Election Commission trends.

Dec 18, 2017, 06:39 AM IST