Australian Open: Two men from Down Under seeded for first time in 12 years

Last time when two Aussies were part of seeding was way back in 2004.

Australian Open: Two men from Down Under seeded for first time in 12 years

Melbourne: As the seedings of the first Grand Slam of the year -- Australian Open – released on Thursday, tournament organisers and local fans were quite jubilated with the fact that at least two Australians have made it into the list, for the first time since 2004.

Bernard Tomic (16) and Nick Kyrgios (29) are the two Australians who have entered the seeding list.

Last time when two Aussies were part of seeding was way back in 2004, when Mark Philippoussis and Lleyton Hewitt cracked into the list.

For the records, the last Australian man to win the Open was Mark Edmondson back in 1976.

However, the last Australian to make the final was Hewitt 11 years ago in 2005, when he lost to Russian Marat Safin.

Tomic and Kyrgios have displayed good form in lead-up tournaments, with Tomic blazing his way through the Sydney International as the top seed, while Kyrgios played a great hand in helping Australia win the Hopman Cup in Perth last week.

However, Kyrgios suffered a minor injury setback on Wednesday, pulling out of the Kooyong Classic in Melbourne with an Achilles' complaint. However, in a press conference following his retirement, Kyrgios said he would be fine for the Australian Open.

Fellow Aussie Samantha Stosur was the only local woman to be seeded. She is ranked 25th going into the tournament.

Following are the seeding lists.


1. Novak Djokovic, Serbia

2. Andy Murray, Britain

3. Roger Federer, Switzerland

4. Stan Wawrinka, Switzerland

5. Rafael Nadal, Spain

6. Tomas Berdych, Czech Republic

7. Kei Nishikori, Japan

8. David Ferrer, Spain

9. Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, France

10. John Isner, United States

11. Kevin Anderson, South Africa

12. Marin Cilic, Croatia

13. Milos Raonic, Canada

14. Gilles Simon, France

15. David Goffin, Belgium

16. Bernard Tomic, Australia

17. Benoit Paire, France

18. Feliciano Lopez, Spain

19. Dominic hiem, Austria

20. Fabio Fognini, Italy

21. Viktor Troicki, Serbia

22. Ivo Karlovic, Croatia

23. Gael Monfils, France

24. Roberto Bautista Agut, Spain

25. Jack Sock, United States

26. Guillermo Garcia-Lopez, Spain

27. Grigor Dimitrov, Bulgaria

28. Andreas Seppi, Italy

29. Nick Kyrgios, Australia

30. Jeremy Chardy, France

31. Steve Johnson, United States

32. Joao Sousa, Portugal