Assembly bye-election

BJP wins in Hamirpur, Badharghat bypoll; LDF wins in Pala; Congress in Dantewada

The poll panel had taken the decision to hold the by-election after taking into consideration various factors like local festivals, electoral rolls and weather conditions. The polling was conducted using EVMs and VVPATs.

Sep 27, 2019, 07:47 AM IST

Live updates: 52.60% voter turnout recorded in bypolls till 7 pm

Assembly bye-election live updates: The voting for the four constituencies-- Dantewada (Chhattisgarh), Pala (Kerala), Hamirpur (Uttar Pradesh) and Badharghat (SC) (Tripura)--started on Monday morning. The counting of the votes will take place on September 27.

Sep 23, 2019, 08:01 AM IST

Congress candidate Hardeepak Nishad vs BJP's Yuvraj Singh in Uttar Pradesh's Hamirpur Assembly bye-election

The bye-election was necessitated following the conviction of Ashok Chandel, former BJP MLA from the constituency, in a murder case and his subsequent disqualification from the Assembly. Chandel was sentenced to life imprisonment by the Allahabad High Court in a 22-year-old shootout case in which five members of a family were killed in Hamirpur.

Sep 19, 2019, 22:50 PM IST

Congress candidate Ratan Chandra Das vs BJP's Mimi Majumder in Tripura's Badharghat (SC) Assembly bye-election

The by-election to Badharghat was necessitated following the death of sitting BJP legislator Dilip Sarkar. A former five-time Congress legislator, Sarkar, who joined BJP in 2017 along with seven other Congress MLAs, died on April 1 after a prolonged illness.

Sep 19, 2019, 22:19 PM IST

Congress candidate PJ Joseph vs BJP's N Hari in Kerala's Pala Assembly bye-election

The by-election was necessitated by the death of Kerala Congress-Mani founder KM Mani in April, who represented the constituency since 1967. Mani first won in 1965, but since no political front could cobble up a majority no government assumed office and the state was under President`s rule till fresh elections were held in 1967. 

Sep 19, 2019, 20:18 PM IST

Congress candidate Devati Karma vs BJP's Ojasvi Mandavi in Chhattisgarh's Dantewada Assembly bye-election

The Dantewada Assembly bye-election in Chhattisgarh is scheduled to take place on Monday (September 23), along with three other seats in Kerala, Tripura and Uttar Pradesh each. The number and name of the assembly Constituency are 88 - Dantewada (ST). The counting of votes will be held on Friday (September 27).

Sep 19, 2019, 18:31 PM IST