Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Bill

New dawn in Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh; India now has 28 states, 9 Union Territories

Nearly three months after the Narendra Modi-led NDA government abrogated Article 370 that gave special status to J&K, the state was officially bifurcated into two Union Territories.  Following the creation of the two UTs, the President's rule imposed in undivided Jammu and Kashmir has been revoked.

Oct 31, 2019, 08:09 AM IST

LS passes J&K Reorganisation Bill: India gets two new UTs, now has 28 states

Lok Sabha passed the Jammu and Kashmir Reservation Bill with 367 votes in favour and 67 votes against it. 

Aug 06, 2019, 19:19 PM IST