Jharkhand assembly poll 2019

Jharkhand assembly polls: Campaigning ends for second phase

The campaigning for the second of the five-phase Jharkhand assembly elections scheduled to be held on Saturday ended on Thursday, officials said.

Dec 05, 2019, 17:45 PM IST

Jharkhand Assembly election 2019: List of winners in 2009, 2014 polls in the seats voting in Phase 1

Voting will take place in Chatra (SC), Gumla (ST), Bishunpur (ST), Lohardaga (ST), Manika (ST), Latehar (SC), Panki, Daltonganj, Bishrampur, Chhatarpur (SC), Hussainabad, Garhwa and Bhawanathpur seats in the first phase. The key candidates in the first phase of election are Chamra Linda, Jharkhand Mukti Morch (JMM) MLA, from Bishunpur, Radhakrishna Kishore of All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) from Chhatarpur and Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) Bhanu Pratap Sahi from Bhawanathpur.

Nov 28, 2019, 12:47 PM IST

Jharkhand Assembly election: PM Modi to campaign in Daltonganj and Gumla today

Elections for 81 Assembly seats in Jharkhand will be held in five phases, beginning from November 30, and the results will be announced on December 23.

Nov 25, 2019, 11:31 AM IST

In Jharkhand, BJP and AJSU alliance hits roadblock

The BJP on Wednesday announced its candidate Sukhdeo Bhagat from the Lohardaga Assembly seat. He is a former Congress president of Jharkhand and joined the BJP just before the announcement of the poll dates. However, the AJSU had already fielded Niru Bhagat from the seat, who filed his nomination on November 11 in the presence of the party president. Soon after the BJP fielded its own candidate, the AJSU leaders went into a huddle.

Nov 13, 2019, 18:33 PM IST

Crisis hits BJP as allies decide to contest independently, Congress releases third list of candidates; top news from Jharkhand

The 81-member Jharkhand Assembly will vote in five phases starting from November 30 to December 20. Counting of votes will take place on December 23.

Nov 12, 2019, 14:21 PM IST

Jharkhand Assembly election: Amit Shah meets BJP leaders to finalise candidates

The meeting was held at Amit Shah's residence and was attended by Chief Minister Raghbar das, Union Minister Arjun Munda, Assembly polls in-charge Om Mathur, Kailash Yadav, BJP State President Laxman Giluwa among others.

Nov 08, 2019, 06:41 AM IST