Jalandhar Lok Sabha constituency

Santokh Singh Chaudhary of the INC was elected as the Member of Parliament from this Lok Sabha constituency in 2014 polls.

Jalandhar Lok Sabha constituency

Jalandhar Parliamentary Constituency is one of the 13 Lok Sabha constituencies of Punjab

It was formed before 1951 and has nine segments of Vidhan Sabha. The Assembly Constituencies that fall in Jalandhar parliamentary constituency are - Phillaur (SC), Nakodar, Shahkot, Kartarpur (SC), Jalandhar West (SC), Jalandhar Central, Jalandhar North, Jalandhar Cantt and Adampur (SC).

Jalandhar Parliamentary Constituency No 4 is reserved for the SC category.

The election in this constituency will be held in the seventh phase of Lok Sabha election 2019 on May 19. The polling will be held in 51 Lok Sabha constituencies spread across seven states and one  Union Territory (Chandigarh) on May 19.

The constituencies where polling will be held in the seventh phase are - Gurdaspur, Amritsar, Khadoor Sahib, Jalandhar, Hoshiarpur, Anandpur Sahib, Ludhiana, Fatehgarh Sahib, Faridkot, Firozpur, Bathinda, Sangrur, Patiala Lok Sabha constituencies in Punjab.

Jalandhar Lok Sabha constituency of Punjab: Full list of candidates, polling dates

Santokh Singh Chaudhary of the INC was elected as the Member of Parliament from this constituency in 2014 Lok Sabha polls.

Chaudhary bagged 380,479 votes to defeat Pawan Kumar Tinu of the SAD who got 309,498.

Live TV


In 2009, Mohinder Singh Kaypee had bagged this seat by defeating Hans Raj Hans of the SAD. 

Jalandhar Parliamentary Constituency has traditionally been a Congress stronghold for long. 

The main electoral contest here is between the Congress and Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD)-Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) alliance in the 2019 Lok Sabha election.

The Election Commission had on March 10 announced the dates for the 2019 Lok Sabha election. The general elections will take place in seven phases between April 11 and May 19, and the results will be declared on May 23.

Along with Lok Sabha Elections, voting will also take place in this phase for Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Sikkim and Odisha Assembly Elections 2019.

Zee News App: Read latest news of India and world, bollywood news, business updates, cricket scores, etc. Download the Zee news app now to keep up with daily breaking news and live news event coverage.