Salempur Lok Sabha Constituency

Ravindra Kushawaha of BJP was elected from this seat in the 2014 polls.

Salempur Lok Sabha Constituency

Salempur Lok Sabha Constituency is one of the 80 parliamentary constituencies of the state of Uttar Pradesh. 

It was formed in 1957.

The Salempur Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 71) has five Vidhan Sabha segments of which two are reserved for the SC category. 

Salempur Lok Sabha constituency of Uttar Pradesh: Full list of candidates, polling dates

Live TV


These assembly constituencies are - Bhatpar Rani, Salempur (SC), Belthara Road (SC), Sikanderpur and Bansdih.

The election in this constituency will be held in the seventh phase of Lok Sabha election 2019 on May 19. In total, the polling will be held in 51 Lok Sabha constituencies spread across seven states and one Union Territory (Chandigarh) on May 19.

In Uttar Pradesh, the polling will be held in Maharajganj, Gorakhpur, Kushi Nagar, Deoria, Bansgaon, Ghosi, Salempur, Ballia, Ghazipur, Chandauli, Varanasi, Mirzapur, Robertsganj Lok Sabha constituencies on May 19.

Ravindra Kushawaha of BJP was elected from this seat in the 2014 polls.

With 392213 votes in his favour, Kushawaha defeated Ravi Shanker Singh (Pappu) of BSP in 2014 polls.

This time again, the BJP has fielded Kushawaha from this seat. 

BSP has given ticket to RS Kushwaha, while INC has nominated Rajesh Mishra as its candidate from here.

The stakes are high for the BJP, which is in power at the Centre and in the state, as the party had won 72 out of the total 80 seats here. In view of the newly formed SP-BSP alliance, BJP-led NDA faces a tough challenge in retaining all those seats it won in the 2014 polls.

The Election Commission had on March 10 announced the dates for the 2019 Lok Sabha election. The general elections will take place in seven phases between April 11 and May 19, and the results will be declared on May 23.

Along with Lok Sabha Elections, voting will also take place in this phase for Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Sikkim and Odisha Assembly Elections 2019. 

Live Tv

Trending news