News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox


Kerala HC disqualifies MLA KM Shaji for using communal overtones to win 2016 polls

 Justice P D Rajan directed the Kerala Assembly Speaker and the Election Commission to take appropriate action.

Nov 09, 2018, 13:02 PM IST

Tamil Nadu opposition seek intervention of Governor Banwarilal Purohit in Cauvery issue: Full text of the memorandum

They met him as a culmination of the week-long march demanding the constitution of the Cauvery Water Management Board.

Apr 13, 2018, 14:41 PM IST

You are Tamil Nadu's First Citizen, speak up on Cauvery issue: Opposition leaders tell Governor Banwarilal Purohit

They accused the Centre of attempting to delaying the constitution of the Cauvery Water Management Board with an eye on the coming Karnataka Assembly election.

Apr 13, 2018, 14:27 PM IST

Triple talaq bill reaches Rajya Sabha today, BJP issues whip to ensure strength

Leader of Opposition in the Upper House Ghulam Nabi Azad has convened a meeting of Congress leaders as well as other parties in his Parliament chamber today.

Jan 02, 2018, 06:26 AM IST

Vengara assembly bypoll result: Don't mess with Kerala, CM Vijayan tells BJP

Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan had a terse message on Sunday for the BJP after it ended up in fourth place in the Vengara assembly bypoll -- "don't mess with Kerala".

Oct 15, 2017, 19:58 PM IST

IUML wins Kerala's Vengara assembly bypoll

Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) candidate K.N.A. Khader on Sunday won the Vengara by-election here with a margin of 23,310 votes.

Oct 15, 2017, 11:35 AM IST

Kerala Vengara bypoll: IUML candidate KNA Khader wins by over 23,000 votes

The Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) candidate KNA Khader won the Vengara by-election on Sunday, with a hefty margin of over 23,000 votes.

Oct 15, 2017, 10:37 AM IST

Hectic campaigning on for Vengara Assembly by-election

Hectic campaigning is on for the October 11 Vengara Assembly be-election, with the Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) looking favourites to win the seat that was vacated by party leader PK Kunhalikutty after he was elected to the Malappuram Lok Sabha constituency in April.

Oct 08, 2017, 13:39 PM IST

AIADMK has lost its majority in Tamil Nadu: MK Stalin

Leader of Opposition in the Tamil Nadu Assembly MK Stalin has alleged that the ruling AIADMK in the state has 'lost its majority' with the dissent by 21 of its MLAs and the DMK-led opposition commanding a strength of 98 in the House.

Sep 10, 2017, 14:58 PM IST

Indian Union Muslim League ​removes women's wing chief over pro-BJP remark

IUML general secretary KPA Majeed said the action was taken against Anwar after she justified her words.

May 06, 2017, 21:29 PM IST

IUML welcomes Babri verdict, says Kalyan Singh, Uma Bharti must resign

The Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) on Wednesday welcomed the Supreme Court decision to revive conspiracy charges against senior BJP leaders L.K. Advani and others in the Babri Masjid demolition case, and demanded that Kalyan Singh and Uma Bharti should resign their posts and face trial.

Apr 19, 2017, 15:02 PM IST

IUML retains Lok Sabha seat from Malappuram, calls it 'secular' win

IUML legislator PK Kunhalikutty was on Monday elected to the Lok Sabha from Malappuram in Kerala by a margin of 171,023 lakh votes. The winner called it a victory for "secular politics".

Apr 17, 2017, 21:02 PM IST

Over 68% turnout in Kerala bypoll, no untoward incident

Over 68 per cent turnout was recorded in the bypoll to the Malappuram Lok Sabha constituency in Kerala on Wednesday and could still go up as many voters were still in the queues when polling ended officially.

Apr 12, 2017, 23:05 PM IST

Malappuram Lok Sabha poll will evaluate Left, BJP: Indian Union Muslim League

The upcoming Malappuram Lok Sabha poll scheduled for April 12 is going to be an evaluation of Kerala`s Left government and the Narendra Modi government, according to the Indian Union Muslim League.

Mar 17, 2017, 12:47 PM IST

IUML seeks candidate for E Ahamed's LS constituency

Talks are on in the IUML to find the right candidate for this Lok Sabha constituency that was the stronghold of its late president, E. Ahamed, a party official said on Saturday.

Feb 04, 2017, 14:40 PM IST

Former Union minister E Ahamed laid to rest

78-year-old E Ahamed, who won from Malappuram in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, had represented Kerala seven times in the Lower House without a break.

Feb 02, 2017, 14:39 PM IST

Kerala CM Pinarayi Vijayan condoles demise of E Ahamed

Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan on Wednesday condoled the demise of MP and IUML leader E Ahamed, saying he always upheld secular values.

Feb 01, 2017, 12:03 PM IST

Kerala MP E Ahamed suffers heart attack, collapses in Parliament during Budget session

Senior Kerala MP, E. Ahamed, on Tuesday suffered a heart attack and collapsed in Parliament`s Central Hall. His condition is critical, doctors at RML hospital said.

Jan 31, 2017, 14:10 PM IST

Uniform Civil Code not practical: IUML

The IUML has 18 legislators and is the most powerful party in the Muslim-dominated Malappuram district with 11 out of the 16 seats in the district with it.

Oct 15, 2016, 20:52 PM IST

Zakir Naik can't be branded a terrorist: IUML MP

Samajwadi Party Maharashtra unit chief Abu Azmi had earlier come out in support of Zakir Naik.

Jul 12, 2016, 16:31 PM IST