Jharkhand Assembly election result 2019

Reasons behind BJP's crushing defeat in Jharkhand Assembly election

Raghubar Das hurt the tribal sentiments by amending land laws - the Santhal Pargana Tenancy (SPT) Act and the Chotanagpur Tenancy Act (CNT) - in 2016. The amendment was passed in the Assembly without discussion amid the opposition uproar. 

Dec 24, 2019, 10:09 AM IST

Several Jharkhand BJP ministers including CM Raghubar Das, BJP state chief Laxman Giluwa trail

The ruling party seems to have lost its sheen with most of the top leaders trailing in their constituencies. 

Dec 23, 2019, 16:34 PM IST

Hemant Soren emerges from father's shadow, likely to be new CM of Jharkhand

The 44-year-old MLA from Barhait has been at the helm of  JMM's campaign against the incumbent Raghubar Das-led government.

Dec 23, 2019, 13:32 PM IST

Jharkhand election strike rate: BJP fails to score big, Congress-JMM-RJD register gains

Some of the major players for the BJP are Raghubar Das who is contesting from East Jamshedpur, Biranchi Narayan from Bokaro and CP Singh representing Ranchi.

Dec 23, 2019, 10:33 AM IST

Jharkhand assembly results 2019: Raghubar Das, Hemant Soren, Babulal Marandi, the key players

The Raghubar Das-led BJP will look to continue for a second term while the Congress and JMM combine look to cause an upset.

Dec 23, 2019, 08:13 AM IST

Jharkhand Assembly result 2019: Here are the key players, major constituencies

Major political parties Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), Congress, Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), All Jharkhand Students` Union (AJSU) and Jharkhand Vikas Morcha-Prajatantrik (JVM-P) are among the major political parties which are in the fray in the tribal-dominated state. Raghubar Das took oath as Chief Minister in 2014 after the BJP won 37 seats and stitched an alliance with the AJSU, which had won 5 seats. 

Dec 23, 2019, 07:17 AM IST