Left Democratic Front

Bomb hurled at CPI(M) rally in Kerala's Kannur, one injured

A country bomb was hurled at a Communist Party of India (Marxist) rally in Kannur on Sunday night.

Nov 20, 2017, 08:53 AM IST

Delhi BJP to stage protest against political violence in Left-ruled Kerala

The Delhi Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) unit will stage a protest march in the national capital against political violence in the Left-ruled Kerala.

Oct 04, 2017, 06:15 AM IST

Kerala CM responsible for murders of BJP, RSS workers: Amit Shah

At least 84 of the 120 political murders occurred in Kannur -- the Chief Minister`s home town, the BJP chief said.

Oct 03, 2017, 14:06 PM IST

Vengara bypoll: LDF announces candidate

The Lok Sabha bypoll was caused by the demise of former union minister E Ahmed.

Sep 17, 2017, 20:00 PM IST

Jishnu Prannoy case: Mother 'assaulted', uncle 'kicked' by Kerala Police; LDF govt slammed

Jishnu Prannoy, a first-year student of Nehru college of engineering in Thrissur, was founding hanging in the college hostel in January last.

Apr 05, 2017, 14:52 PM IST

NCW hails Kerala govt's stand on women's entry in Sabarimala shrine

National Commission for Women (NCW) has termed as a "very good move" the Kerala government's stand to allow entry of women of all age groups in famous Sabarimala shrine.

Nov 09, 2016, 23:07 PM IST

LDF candidate Sreeramakrishnan elected as Kerala Assembly speaker

 LDF candidate and two-time legislator P Sreeramakrishnan has been elected as speaker of the Kerala Assembly today.

Jun 03, 2016, 12:18 PM IST

'I still have my vertebras in place', writes Kerala top cop on Facebook after being transferred

Posting on Facebook a day before he handed over the job, Senkumar said he is not spineless.

Jun 02, 2016, 16:10 PM IST

Lotus 'blooms' in Kerala Assembly as BJP's Rajagopal takes oath

The `lotus` finally bloomed on the floor of the Kerala assembly when 86-year-old veteran BJP leader O. Rajagopal took oath as a legislator on Thursday.

Jun 02, 2016, 14:51 PM IST

VS Achuthanandan has a message for Kerala's new LDF government – Read

 Former Kerala chief minister VS Achuthanandan was recently given a ceremonial title of 'Kerala's Fidel Castro' by Communist Party of India (Marxist) general secretary Sitaram Yechury.

May 25, 2016, 11:47 AM IST

Pinarayi Vijayan to swear-in as Kerala CM today, says people have high hopes of us

The swearing-in ceremony of Communist Party of India (Marxist)​ leader Pinarayi Vijayan as Kerala's 22nd chief minister will take place at the Central Stadium.

May 25, 2016, 08:54 AM IST

After Pinarayi Vijayan's selections as CM, VS Achuthanandan to continue as 'sentinel' of people of Kerala

There were reports that CPI-M veteran VS Achuthanandan was unhappy at not being anointed as Chief Minister of Kerala.

May 21, 2016, 13:49 PM IST

Pinarayi Vijayan to be sworn-in as Kerala CM on May 25

 Pinarayi Vijayan would be sworn-in as Kerala`s 22nd chief minister on May 25, in the state capital .

May 21, 2016, 11:25 AM IST

It's official! Pinarayi Vijayan will be next Kerala CM

CPI-M leader Sitaram Yechury said that considering VS Achuthanandan's age, Pinarayi ​Vijayan has been chosen for the Kerala CM's post.

May 20, 2016, 16:18 PM IST

Roji M John and Mohammed Mohsin's journey from JNU to Kerala Assembly

Both John and Mohsin had stood together at the JNU when Kanhaiya Kumar, Umar Khalid, Anirban Bhattacharya, including some other students were arrested.

May 20, 2016, 11:11 AM IST

Oommen Chandy quits as Kerala CM; CPI(M) MLAs to elect new leader today

Following its victory, the CPI(M) will meet today to decide who will be the new chief minister of Kerala.

May 20, 2016, 09:00 AM IST

Assembly Elections 2016: Mamata decimates Left in West Bengal, BJP routs Congress in Assam, Jayalalithaa creates history in Tamil Nadu, Left reclaims Kerala

The BJP on Thursday made history in Assam, decimating Congress which was dethroned in Kerala too even as Jayalalithaa and Mamata Banerjee romped home for a second consecutive term in Tamil Nadu and West Bengal.

May 19, 2016, 23:59 PM IST

Kerala Assembly Election 2016: LDF returns to power, Congress decimated; BJP opens its account

CPI(M)-led LDF has won 91 seats in Kerala Assembly, Congress-led UDF could win only 47 seats as against 72 seats it won in 2011.

May 19, 2016, 22:35 PM IST

Kerala Assembly Results 2016: As it happened

Kerala voted for change with United Democratic Front, which had been in power for the last 5 years, being routed by the Left Democratic Front. Buoyed by LDF's massive win in the Kerala Assembly polls, senior leaders of the CPI(M)-led alliance said the people of the state gave a verdict against corruption under Congress-led UDF rule and "communal politics" practised by BJP-led NDA. The Kerala Elections 2016 Results is being announced by the Election Commission of India. Below are the Kerala election live results.



May 19, 2016, 22:20 PM IST

Kerala election: Five reasons why UDF lost the battle to LDF

The result of Kerala Assembly election came as a huge setback for United Democratic Front.

May 19, 2016, 19:11 PM IST