Sanjay Arora appointed as new Delhi Police Commissioner

Sanjay Arora, who is currently the Director General of the Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) Force, will take charge as Delhi Police's top cop on Monday.

Sanjay Arora appointed as new Delhi Police Commissioner

New Delhi: Sanjay Arora, a Tamil Nadu-cadre IPS officer, was on Sunday (July 31, 2022) appointed as the new Commissioner of Delhi Police. Arora, currently serving as the Director General of the Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) Force, will take charge as Delhi's top cop on Monday (August 1).

He will succeed Rakesh Asthana, a Gujarat-cadre IPS officer.

According to an official order, the competent authority has approved the inter-cadre deputation of Arora to the AGMUT cadre.

Who is Sanjay Arora, Delhi Police's new Commissioner?

Sanjay Arora is a 1988 batch Indian Police Service (IPS) officer from the Tamil Nadu cadre. He has a bachelor's degree in Electrical and Electronics Engineering from Jaipur's Malviya National Institute of Technology.

After joining the IPS, he served in various capacities in Tamil Nadu Police. He was Superintendent of Police (SP), Special Task Force, where he achieved significant success against the Veerappan gang, for which he was awarded CM’s Gallantry Medal for Bravery and Heroic Action.

In 1991, Sanjay Arora, after being trained by NSG, had a pivotal role in forming the Special Security Group (SSG) to provide security to the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu during the heydays of LTTE activity.

He has also served as the Superintendent of Police in various districts of Tamil Nadu.

Arora has served in ITBP on deputation as Commandant from 1997 to 2002. He commanded a border guarding ITBP Battalion in Matli, Uttarakhand from 1997 to 2000. As an instructor, Arora had made remarkable contributions in the field of training, serving as Commandant (Combat Wing) at the ITBP Academy, Mussoorie from 2000 to 2002.

Sanjay Arora has also served as Coimbatore Police Commissioner

Sanjay Arora has also served as Commissioner of Police, Coimbatore city from 2002 to 2004. He was also the Deputy Inspector General of Police, Villupuram range, and Deputy Director of Vigilance and Anti-Corruption.

He has led the Chennai City Police as – Additional Commissioner – Crime & Headquarters and Additional Commissioner – Traffic. On promotion, he was appointed as ADGP (Operations) and ADGP (Administration) in Tamil Nadu Police.

He has served as IG (Special Operations) BSF, IG Chhattisgarh Sector CRPF, and IG Operations CRPF. He has served as ADG HQ & Ops CRPF and Spl DG J&K Zone CRPF before being appointed as DG, ITBP.

Sanjay Arora assumed charge of DG ITBP on August 31, 2021

Sanjay Arora assumed the charge of DG ITBP on August 31, 2021, as the 31st Chief of the Force.

He has been awarded the Police Medal for Meritorious Service in 2004, President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service in 2014, Police Special Duty Medal , Antrik Suraksha Padak and UN Peacekeeping Medal among others.