Kokrajhar Lok Sabha constituency of Assam: Full list of candidates, polling dates

Here is the full list of candidates contesting the Lok Sabha election in 2019 from Kokrajhar Lok Sabha constituency of Assam. 

Kokrajhar Lok Sabha constituency of Assam: Full list of candidates, polling dates
File Photo

Kokrajhar is one of 14 Lok Sabha constituencies in the north-eastern state of Assam and cast its vote in the 2019 election on April 23. The result will be out on May 23. 

Kokrajhar registered 83.16 percent voter turnout in 2019, a gain of 1.73 percent. The total number of electors in the constituency is 1765423 while the total voter turnout is 1468112. While in 2014, the constituency registered 81.43 percent voter turnout. The total number of electors in the constituency was 1502436 while the total voter's turnout was 1223445.

Biraj Deka of Communist Party of India (Marxist), Sabda Ram Rabha of Indian National Congress and Independent candidate Naba Kumar Sarania are some of the prominent names that will contest the Lok Sabha election 2019 from Kokrajhar Lok Sabha constituency in Assam. 

Kokrajhar Lok Sabha constituency covers 10 assembly segments - Gossaigaon, Kokrajhar East (ST), Kokrajhar West (ST), Sidli (ST), Bijni, Sorbhog, Bhabanipur, Tamulpur, Barama (ST) and Chapaguri (ST).

Assam Lok Sabha constituencies: All you need to know

SL. NO. Candidate Name Party Name
1 Pramila Rani Brahma Bodoland Peoples Front
2 Biraj Deka Communist Party of India (Marxist)
3 Sabda Ram Rabha Indian National Congress
4 Urkhao Gwra Brahma United People’s Party, Liberal
5 Charan Iswary Purvanchal Janta Party (Secular)
6 Rajesh Narzary Voters Party International
7 Naba Kumar Sarania Independent
8 Prasanjit Kumar Das Independent
9 Ranjoy Kr. Brahma Independent

Also read: Kokrajhar Lok Sabha constituency

In the 2014 Lok Sabha election here, Independent candidate Naba Kumar Sarania defeated another Independent candidate Urkhao Gwra Brahma by a massive margin of 3,55,779 votes. This was the highest margin of win in terms of votes ever in elections in the state of Assam.

Zee News App: Read latest news of India and world, bollywood news, business updates, cricket scores, etc. Download the Zee news app now to keep up with daily breaking news and live news event coverage.