TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu sits on dharna at Tirupati airport, detained

TDP supremo N Chandrababu Naidu on Monday staged a dharna at the Tirupati airport after he was stopped by the police from going to Chittoor for campaigning for the municipal corporation elections. The Tirupati police said that there will be a law and order problem if Naidu is allowed to visit Chittoor. 

Mar 01, 2021, 12:47 PM IST

Andhra Pradesh State Election Commissioner issues notice to TDP over alleged violation of MCC

YSRCP general secretary Lella Appireddy on Friday complained to SEC that publishing and circulating manifesto for gram panchayat elections is a violation of an order issued by the State Election Commission earlier and appealed to take appropriate action.

Jan 31, 2021, 00:21 AM IST

Why Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation election is battle of prestige for BJP, TRS

Counting of the votes cast in Tuesday`s Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) municipal polls is underway on Friday amid tight security. Counting of the votes cast in all 150 divisions began at 8 AM at 30 places in the city with the Telangana State Election Commission deploying over 8,000 personnel.

Dec 04, 2020, 11:11 AM IST

Burning of temple chariot ignites political wildfire in Andhra Pradesh

On the intervening night of Saturday-Sunday last week, a wooden chariot belonging to Sri Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy Temple in Antarvedi town in East Godavari district of Andhra Pradesh was burned to ashes.

Sep 10, 2020, 18:41 PM IST

TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu's 'donkey' remark at Andhra Pradesh cops stir row

On Friday, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) president landed in Visakhapatnam airport on his way to north Andhra tour.

Feb 28, 2020, 23:16 PM IST

Rajya Sabha elections to fill 55 seats on March 26, results on same date

Elections to fill the 55 Rajya Sabha seats falling vacant in April will be held on March 26, 2020. Announcing the dates of the Rajya Sabha election, the Election Commission of India (ECI) on Tuesday (February 25, 2020) announced that biennial elections will be held in 17 states following the retirement of the members.

Feb 25, 2020, 13:27 PM IST

Incriminating evidence seized from residence, premises of Chandrababu Naidu's former private secretary

The Central Board of Direct Taxes on Thursday announced the seizure of "incriminating evidence" from the residence and other premises of former Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu's ex-private secretary Pendyala Srinivasa Rao.

Feb 14, 2020, 11:09 AM IST

Andhra Pradesh Assembly passes resolution to abolish Legislative Council

The move to abolish the Legislative Council comes days after Chief Minister Jaganmohan Reddy-led government in the state failed to get two bills on its plans to have three capitals passed by the Upper House, which is dominated by main opposition Telugu Desam Party of N Chandrababu Naidu.

Jan 27, 2020, 19:10 PM IST

Jaganmohan Reddy Cabinet clears draft bill to abolish Andhra Legislative Council

YSRCP has alleged that the TDP had been using majority in the council for its own benefit and halting key bills. 

Jan 27, 2020, 11:22 AM IST

TDP's Nara Lokesh placed under house arrest at his residence in Undavalli

The police issued notice to Lokesh stating that in view of the orders promulgated by the competent authority under section 144 of CrP.C.

Jan 10, 2020, 21:50 PM IST

Andhra Pradesh MP licks police boots to protest remarks

Gorantla Madhav, a member of Lok Sabha from Andhra Pradesh`s Hindupur, surprised media persons by licking the police boots while defending the police at a news conference on Friday.

Dec 21, 2019, 18:30 PM IST

Andhra: YSRCP MP kisses police boot to protest TDP leader's 'boot-licking' remark

MP Madhav, who is an ex-Circle Inspector, said he kissed the shoe as a tribute to the martyrs who protect the integrity and sovereignty of the people. 

Dec 20, 2019, 16:25 PM IST

TDP files complaint against YSRCP workers over 'attack on Chandrababu Naidu's convoy'

The complaint, which was filed at Thullur police station, said that the TDP leaders, under the leadership of party chief Chandrababu Naidu, were travelling in a convoy of vehicles to see the development of Amaravati.

Nov 30, 2019, 12:54 PM IST

Chandrababu Naidu-led TDP and Jaganmohan Reddy-led YSRCP engage in Twitter war over Tricolour

While political battles are fought hard on the ground among the leaders and supporters of rival political parties, the same are finding a prominent place on social media platform Twitter with a dash of creativity.

Nov 22, 2019, 19:17 PM IST

TRS takes early lead in Huzurnagar by-poll

Election Commission officials said there will be a total of 22 rounds of counting. They have arranged 14 tables for the counting process, which is likely to be completed by 1 p.m.

Oct 24, 2019, 09:53 AM IST

Andhra Pradesh: Jaganmohan Reddy's demolition drive reaches Chandrababu Naidu's doorstep

Andhra Pradesh Capital Region Development Authority (APCRDA) officials razed unauthorized construction belonging to a TDP leader near Naidu's residence in Vundavalli village.

Sep 24, 2019, 12:38 PM IST

Chandrababu Naidu's actions were increasing tensions, creating disturbance: Andhra Pradesh DGP

Andhra Pradesh DGP G Sawang stressed that Naidu was not taken into preventive custody for fighting against the policies of state government.

Sep 11, 2019, 16:16 PM IST

In house arrest, Chandrababu Naidu accuses YSRCP of violating human rights with 'cowardly' actions

Several TDP leaders, including Naidu and his son Nara Lokesh, have been put under house arrest.

Sep 11, 2019, 13:21 PM IST

Chandrababu Naidu, son Nara Lokesh and several TDP leaders under house arrest

Naidu went on a 12-hour-fast on Wednesday morning - from 8 am to 8 pm - to protest the detention.

Sep 11, 2019, 09:11 AM IST

KCR embarks on construction spree in Telangana, faces massive flak

KCR has laid the foundation stones for a new Assembly and Sectratiate buildings but critics have slammed him for a number of reasons ranging from wasting public money to destroying historically vital sites.

Jun 27, 2019, 14:19 PM IST