Ever regretted sending a WhatsApp message? Now you can delete it

You can now delete WhatsApp messages you sent by mistake — whether to one person or an entire group.

Ever regretted sending a WhatsApp message? Now you can delete it

New Delhi: WhatsApp on Tuesday announced it has officially rolled out its most anticipated feature `Delete for Everyone` that allows its over one billion users revoke their messages in case they sent those to a wrong person or a group.

You can now delete WhatsApp messages you sent by mistake — whether to one person or an entire group, WhatsApp wrote in its blog.

"Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake," WhatsApp said.

This feature is rolling out for users around the world on the latest versions of iPhone, Android, Windows Phone as well as desktop.

Here's how it works

  • Tap and hold on the message
  • Choose "Delete"
  • Choose "Delete for everyone."
  • You have seven minutes to delete the message after it's sent.

Keep in mind that for the deletion to be successful, both the sender and recipient must be using the latest version of WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone.

Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with "This message was deleted" in your recipients` chats.

Similarly, if you see "This message was deleted" in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link

Close