Bihar bypolls underway; 31.25% voter turnout in Araria till noon

The polling will continue till 5 in the evening.

By Zee Media Bureau | Last Updated: Sunday, March 11, 2018 - 13:23
ANI photo

PATNA: Voting for bypolls to three Bihar seats — Araria Lok Sabha and Jehanabad and Bhabua assembly seats began on Sunday morning. The polling will continue till 5 in the evening.

The chief contest is between BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) and the Grand Alliance comprising of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Congress and Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular) [HAM (S)] or HAM-S. The outcome of the bypolls are likely to set the tone for 2019 Lok Sabha polls.

The Araria Lok Sabha bypolls were necessitated following the death of sitting RJD lawmaker Mohammad Taslimuddin. The bypolls to Jehanabad and Bhabua assembly seats are being held following the death of sitting legislators from the RJD and the BJP, respectively. 


11 March 2018, 13:23 PM

11 March 2018, 13:22 PM

11 March 2018, 12:45 PM

Araria Lok Sabha bypoll recorded 31.25% voter turnout, while Bhabua recorded 24.5% turnout and Jehanabad 28.6 % turnout.

11 March 2018, 11:37 AM

A total of 14 candidates are in the fray in Jehanabad


11 March 2018, 11:37 AM

In Jehanabad, the RJD hopes to retain the Assembly seat that fell vacant after the death of Mundrika Yadav. The party has given ticket to Yadav's son Kumar Krishna Mohan.


11 March 2018, 11:37 AM

In Araria parliamentary constituency, seven candidates are in the fray. Former BJP MP Pradeep Kumar Singh is seeking to regain the seat from the RJD which has fielded Sarfaraz Alam, the death of whose father Mohd Taslimuddin has necessitated the bypoll.

11 March 2018, 11:36 AM

About 12 per cent electorate cast their votes till 10 am in the bypolls

11 March 2018, 10:01 AM

Pradeep Singh, the BJP candidate for Araria bypolls, casts his vote. 



11 March 2018, 09:29 AM

11 March 2018, 08:03 AM

The by-elections are set to see direct contests between the NDA-led by Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Grand Alliance, which got its third constituent in the Hindustani Awam Morcha-Secular (HAM-S) of Jitan Ram Manjhi, who quit the NDA to switch sides.

11 March 2018, 07:56 AM

A complaint has been lodged against Bihar BJP state President Nityanand Rai' on charges of violating the model code of conduct for his comment.

"If Sarfaraz Alam (RJD candidate) wins the bypoll then Araria will become hub of ISI," he had said. 

11 March 2018, 07:34 AM

"For development and good governance, BJP is necessary," says UP CM Adityanath. 



11 March 2018, 07:17 AM

Visuals from Bihar bypolls


11 March 2018, 07:17 AM

Voting begins at Araria, Jehanabad and Bhabua