This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

PM forms committee to review agri schemes for Eastern India

Last Updated: Wednesday, November 21, 2012 - 20:00

New Delhi: Prime Minister Manmohan Singh has constituted an apex committee, under his chairmanship, to review various schemes launched by the government to bring green revolution in Eastern states.

The 'Apex Committee on Agriculture for Eastern India', which was formed earlier this month, has 13 members including Finance Minister P Chidambaram, Agriculture Minister Sharad Pawar, Planning Commission Deputy Chairman Montek Singh Ahluwalia and Rural Development Minister Jairam Ramesh.

The panel has been formed to provide necessary impetus to various programmes for the development of agriculture in the seven eastern states, including the flagship scheme 'Bringing Green Revolution in Eastern India (BGREI)'.

BGREI scheme, which was launched in 2010-11 fiscal, seeks to address the constraints affecting productivity of rice-based cropping systems in Eastern India. The scheme has already helped boost rice production.

It has helped in producing a record 55.3 million tonnes of rice in the Eastern region in 2011-12 crop year (July-June) out of the total 104.32 million tonnes.

"Government has formed an apex committee on agriculture for Eastern India in order to ensure coordinated delivery of services in the 7 eastern states of Assam, Bihar, Odisha, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Eastern Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal," a senior government official said.

The terms of reference include reviewing of the progress of implementation of schemes aiding agriculture development in Eastern India. It would also review policies aimed towards improving infrastructure related to irrigation, power, roads, marketing, processing and procurement of foodgrains.

The other members in the committee include -- Science and Technology Minister S Jaipal Reddy, Fertiliser and Chemicals Minister M K Alagiri, Food Minister K V Thomas, Water Resources Minister Harish Rawat, Tribal Affairs Minister K C Deo, Environment Affairs Minister Jayanthi Natarajan, Power Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia.

The government has also increased the allotment under the BGREI to Rs 1,000 crore in 2012-13 fiscal from Rs 400 crore in 2011-12.


First Published: Wednesday, November 21, 2012 - 20:00
comments powered by Disqus