This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Royal Challengers Bangalore rope in Harpreet Singh as replacement of injured Sarfaraz Khan

Harpreet couldn't be a part of the IPL 2017 auction after a mistaken identity cost him the opportunity.

Royal Challengers Bangalore rope in Harpreet Singh as replacement of injured Sarfaraz Khan

New Delhi: Royal Challengers' Sarfaraz Khan, who injured himself during the pre-season practice session, is finally replaced by Harpreet Singh for the rest of the Indian Premier League 2017 season.

Sarfaraz who hasn’t played a single match in this edition so far, was carried off the field on a stretcher, and was ruled out of the full season just before the start of the new campaign.

Harpreet couldn't be a part of the IPL 2017 auction and the reason couldn't have been more bizarre.

As per the reports, news agencies goofed up and mistook him for Harmeet Singh, a player who was detained and later released on bail for driving his car on Andheri Railway station platform on Monday (February 20) – the day of IPL auction.

As a result, Harpreet, the Madhya Pradesh batsman, remained unsold even though he was one of the most consistent cricketers in domestic circles.

A franchise official had then said, “We wanted to buy him, but as news came of Harpreet’s arrest, we decided not to do so since it would give the franchise a bad image. But later, when the auction got over, we came to know it was Harmeet and not Harpreet.”

Well, as the saying goes, better late than never, Harpreet has finally found a franchise and is all set to feature in the Indian Premier League Season 10.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions

Live Score Card

Sunrisers Hyderabad Vs Kolkata Knight Riders

April 30  20:00 IST
Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium

Mumbai Indians Vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

May 1  16:00 IST
Wankhede Stadium

Kings XI Punjab Vs Delhi Daredevils

April 30  16:00 IST
Kings XI Punjab won by 10 wickets with 73 balls remaining

Gujarat Lions Vs Mumbai Indians

April 29  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians won the one-over eliminator

IPL 2017 Points Table

Teams MP Won Lost Pts
KKR 9 7 2 14
MI 9 7 2 14
SRH 9 5 3 11
RPS 9 5 4 10
KXIP 9 4 5 8
GL 9 3 5 6
RCB 10 2 7 5
DD 8 2 6 4


1 Gautam Gambhir
2 David Warner
SRH | 333 Runs
3 Robin Uthappa
KKR | 331 Runs


1 Bhuvneshwar Kumar
18 Wickets
2 Imran Tahir
RPS | 13 Wickets
3 Andrew Tye
GL | 12 Wickets