Gujarat Lions

Last Updated: Tuesday, April 4, 2017 - 17:01

Gujarat Lions were in sensational form in their maiden season where they ended up being at the top of the points table. However, the team suffered two heartbreaking losses in the qualifiers where they were beaten by Royal Challengers Bangalore and Sunrisers Hyderabad.

At the IPL auction this year, the management was keen on strengthening the bowling line-up as a result of which they roped some known domestic names in Manpreet Gony, Munaf Patel, Nathu Singh and Pradeep Sangwan. They have retained their key players from the previous season, and with the likes of Suresh Raina, Brendon McCullum, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja and James Faulkner in the team, there is no reason why the team cannot win the tournament this year.

Captain: Suresh Raina

Coach: Brad Hodge

Best Performance: 2016 play-off.

Squad: Suresh Raina, Brendon McCullum, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Aaron Finch, James Faulkner, Dwayne Smith, Dinesh Karthik, Jason Ray, Andrew Tye, Dhawal Kulkarni, Praveen Kumar, Munaf Patel, Pradeep Sangwan, Shadab Jakati, Ishan Kishan, Shivil Kaushik, Akshdeep Nath, Nathu Singh, Jaydev Shah, Manpreet Gony, Basil Thampy, Tejas Baroka, Chirag Suri, Pratham Singh, Shelly Shaurya, Shubham Agarwal.

Players to watch out for: Ravindra Jadeja, Suresh Raina, Aaron Finch, James Faulkner, Ishan Kishan.