MSK Prasad named new chairman of selectors; Ajay Shirke re-elected as secretary

Venkatesh Prasad was appointed as the new chairman of selectors while Ajay Shirke was retained as the BCCI secretary in the board's Annual General Meeting (AGM) today in Mumbai.

MSK Prasad named new chairman of selectors; Ajay Shirke re-elected as secretary

New Delhi: As expected, Ajay Shirke was on Wednesday re-elected as the secretary of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

The decision was taken in Indian board's 87th annual general meeting in Mumbai today.

In another major development, former Indian wicketkeeper batsman MSK Prasad was appointed as the new chairman of selectors.

Four others who will be in his panel are Devang Gandhi, Gagan Khoda, Sarandeep Singh and Jatin Paranjape.

Prasad, who represented India in six Tests and 17 ODIs, has replaced Sandeep Patil for the post.

The meeting was chaired by President Anurag Thakur.

Earlier for the first time, BCCI released the advertisement to appoint national selectors on September 10.

Since the Lodha Committee had ordered to do away with the zonal system, the Indian board was forced to abandon the old method of appointing national selectors, which was done based on nominations received from the five zones.

The eligibility criteria mentioned by the BCCI in its advertisement also differed from the one set by the Lodha Committee.

According to the Committee's guideline, only former India Test players would be eligible to be appointed to the men's and women's selection committees, provided they had been retired from the game for at least 5 years.

The BCCI advertisement said, "He/She should have represented the Indian team either in a Test match or a one-day international or more than 50 first-class matches in India, in a team selected by the BCCI to be considered for the Senior National selection Committee."

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link