Delhi Bawana bypoll Results: AAP's Ram Chander wins; BJP finishes second, Congress third

The AAP on Monday won Bawana Assembly seat in Delhi in the latest round of by-polls.

By Zee Media Bureau | Last Updated: Aug 28, 2017, 14:30 PM IST
Delhi Bawana bypoll Results: AAP's Ram Chander wins; BJP finishes second, Congress third
Pic Courtesy: AAP's Twitter account

New Delhi: Counting of votes for Delhi's Bawana constituency ended on Monday with Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) emerging as the winner. AAP candidate Ram Chander bagged 59886 votes.

Here are the Live updates:

AAP candidate Ram Chander won the Bawana byelection by securing 59886 votes. Chander defeated BJP candidate Ved Prakash with a margin of 24052 votes. While Prakash secured 35834 votes, Congress' Surender Kumar received 31919.

Round 28: Final tally - AAP wins 59886 votes, BJP 53834 and Congress 31919.

- Round 27: AAP's Ram Chander at 59844, projected to win Bawana bypoll. BJP's Ved Parkash at 35782, Congress' Surender Kumar at 31881. 

- AAP leader Kumar Vishwas congratulates AAP volunteers for party's impressive performance in Bawana bypoll.

- AAP thanks the electorate for supporting AAP candidate Ram Chander.

- Round 26: AAP candidate Ram Chander has taken a decisive lead over BJP's Ved Prakash by 23708 votes after the 26th round of counting of votes. Current tally: AAP- 58209, BJP 34501, Congress 30758. 

- Round 25: AAP extends lead by 23132 votes over BJP. Congress is in third position with 29451 votes. Current tally: AAP- 56178, BJP 33046, Congress 29451. 

- Round 24: AAP set to retain Bawana constituency. Ram Chander receives 53465 votes, Congress' Surender Kumar 31064 and BJP's Ved Prakash 28634.

- Round 23: AAP wins 51070 votes, Congress 29595 and BJP 28126 after 23rd round of counting.

- Round 22: AAP's Ram Chander leading by over 19,000 votes. AAP receives 48366 votes, Congress 28236 and BJP 27596.

- Round 21: AAP receives 47554 votes, Congress 27090 and BJP 26406.

- Round 20: AAP's Ram Chander is leading by 19929 votes while Congress's Surender Kumar was far behind with 26659 votes.

- Round 19: AAP stays ahead with 42942 votes, Congress at second position with 25882, BJP 23949.

- Rpund 18: With 40402 votes AAP is all set to win Bawana bypoll; Congress 25187 and BJP 22750.

- Round 17: AAP's Ram Chander is leading by 12230 votes while Congress's Surender Kumar is trailing with 24648.

- Round 16: AAP takes a big lead, garners 34653 votes. Congress 23736, BJP 21378.

- Round 15: AAP's Ram Chander takes a lead of 7433 votes over Congress's Surender Kumar in 15th round of counting.

- Round 14: AAP takes a good lead over Congress. Ram Chandra races ahead with 27647 votes; Surendra Kumar stays in contest with 22936, BJP candidate Ved Prakash remains at third position with 19542 votes.

- Round 13: AAP continues to lead with 25374 votes, Congress 22465 and BJP continues to remain at third position with 18041 votes.

- Round 12: AAP has again taken a lead with 23216 votes in its kitty; Congress 21848 and BJP 16561.

- Round 11: Neck and neck fight between Congress and AAP. Congress' Surendra Kumar gets 20914 votes, AAP's Ram Chandra 20785 and BJP's Ved Prakash 15346.

- Round 10: Congress makes a comeback, gets 19387 votes, AAP 19095, BJP far behind with 14136.

- AAP seems to be making a comeback. Round 9 - Arvind Kejriwal's party gets 17785 votes, Congress 17503 and BJP gets 13356.

- Dramatic turnaround in Round 8: AAP, the ruling party gets 15979 votes, Congress 15640 and BJP 11806. 

Round 7: Bawana bypoll results: Congress 14791, BJP 12740, AAP 10645.

Round 6: Congress has 13182 votes in its kitty, BJP 9745 and AAP 9499.

-Round 5 - Congress' Surendra Kumar stays ahead with 11097 votes, BJP 8511 and AAP remains at third position with 7204 votes. 

-Round 4: Congress gets 8966 votes, BJP and AAP get 6899 and 6256 votes respectively.

- Round 3: Congress candidate continues to remain ahead with 6355 votes. BJP's Ved Prakash bags 5145 and AAP candidate is at third position with 5081 votes.

- Round 2: Congress stays ahead of BJP and AAP. Congress candidate Surender Kumar leading with 3796 votes, AAP 's Ram Chandra 3451, BJP's Ved Prakash 3154.

 - Trends say Congress gets 2108 votes, AAP 1906 and BJP 1687.

- Early trends say that Congress was ahead of BJP and AAP.

- Counting begins at 8 am.

The bypoll in Bawana was necessitated after AAP MLA Ved Prakash quit the party and resigned from the Delhi Assembly to join the BJP in March, ahead of the municipal corporation elections.

Prakash contested on a BJP ticket, while the AAP has shown its faith in Ram Chandra -- a popular Poorvanchali face. Three-time MLA from Bawana Surender Kumar is contesting on the Congress ticket. 

Though, eight candidates are in the fray but the main fight is between the AAP, the BJP and the Congress.

The AAP is keen to register its first victory in a bypoll as it lost the previous bypoll in Rajouri Garden to the BJP. The party subsequently also lost the municipal polls.

In the 70-member Delhi Assembly, the AAP has 65 MLAs, the BJP four whole Congress is hoping to open its account in the House by winning this seat.