Tannishtha Chatterjee in Asia Pacific Screen Awards jury

New Delhi: Tannishtha Chatterjee, of "Brick Lane" fame, has been named in the six-member jury of next month`s 4th Asia Pacific Screen Awards that will be headed by Oscar-winning British producer Lord David Puttnam.

The organisers said that the jury is supposed to gather in Queensland at the end of November and then announce the awards on December 2.

Tannishtha, last seen in Dev Benegal`s "Road, Movie", is believed to be one of the youngest member to be in a international jury like APSA.

APSA has 5 Indian films in nominations in different categories this year.

Anurag Kashyap`s "Udaan" has been nominated in the best children`s film category.

Asked if it was a little strange about the film`s nomination in the children`s category, its director Vikramaditya Motwane said, "It is up to to the organisations to nominate a film."

Talking to reporters, he said, "I don`t know what is the criteria for selection. I also don`t have a problem because the organisers thought the film should be nominated in that category and they did."

Santosh Sivan and V Manikandan have been nominated for their cinematographic work in "Raavan".

Marathi star Tesjaswini Pandit will vie for top honours in the best actress category for her role in the Marathi film "I am Sindhutai Sakpal" while actor Atul Kulkarni has been nominated for best actor for "Natarang".

Cinematographer Sudhir Palsane received a nomination for his camera work in Marathi film "Vihir" (The Well). A total of 31 films from 15 countries are in the competition race.

These awards, an initiative of the Queensland government, Australia in collaboration with UNESCO and FIAPF-International Federation of Film Producers Associations, invite films from 70 countries and areas, which include one third of the earth and half the world`s film output.

Films are judged on cinematic excellence and the way in which they attest to their cultural origins.

Films from China including one from Hong Kong received the highest 12 nominations.