Follow Me on Pinterest Google Plus Ditto RSS Mail to us Mail to us
Thursday, August 07, 2014 
Zoya Akhtar`s `Zindagi Na..` sweeps IIFA technical awards
Updated on Saturday, June 09, 2012, 08:50
 Comments 0  

Singapore: Filmmaker Zoya Akhtar`s ‘Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara’ swept the technical awards category with five trophies at the 13th International Indian Film Academy Weekend and Awards. The winners were announced Friday night at the IIFA Rocks, a fashion and musical night organised a day before the main award ceremony.

The ‘Road Movie’, starring Abhay Deol, Hrithik Roshan, Farhan Akhtar, Katrina Kaif and Kalki Koechlin, walked away with five awards for best editing for Anand Subaya, best sound recording mixing for Anuj Mathur and Baylon Fonseca, best choreography for Bosco-Ceaser, best screenplay for Zoya and Reema Kagti and best cinematography for Carlos Catalan.

"It is the best thing when a director trusts you and has faith in you. I would like to thank Zoya for trusting me. I would also like to thank Farhan, who sat with me for three weeks and taught me to edit," Subaya said after receiving the award.

‘RA.One’ followed with four awards for best special effects, best sound design for Resul Pookutty, best song recording for Vijay Dayal for "Chammak Challo" and best production design for Sabu Cyril.

Niharika Khan won the award for best costume design for ‘The Dirty Picture’ and best make up award went to Vikram Gaekwad for the same film. ‘The Dirty Picture’ also won the award for best dialogues.

"I would like to thank Vidya for allowing me to take off her clothes in the film," joked an excited Niharika, before thanking the cast and crew.

Oscar winner A.R. Rahman won an award for best background score in ‘Rockstar’, while Jai Singh Nijjar won best action trophy for ‘Singham’.

Hosted by Ayushmann Khurrana and Chitrangada Singh, the event also saw performances by Shahid Kapoor and Priyanka Chopra, who grooved to their song "Uff" from ‘Teri Meri Kahaani’. Others who performed included Neha Dhupia, Vishal-Shekhar, Hariharan, Lesle Lewis, Usha Uthup, Mika, Gauhar Khan, Sonu Sood and Hazel Keech and Shafqat Amanat Ali.


Post Comment
Your comment(s) on this article
a Print this page s a E-Mail
Post Comment
The views represented here are not neccesarily endorsed by www.zeenews.com and its allied websites. All messages will be moderated and no message that has inflammatory, abusive, derogatory language or any language deemed unfit for publication by the editor will be displayed. Though it will be endeavoured that as many messages as possible be displayed, there will be time lag between the submission and publication of the messages. The website reserves the right to publish or reject any message.

nomination Nomination List nomination
pic gallery
IIFA 2011: Flashback of Bollywood’s biggest off-shore gala
It was a night full of glamour, fun and of course movie actors in abundance. To put it straight, Indian International Film Festival (IIFA) rocked its 11th year in Toronto.

Copyright © Zee Media Corporation Ltd . All rights reserved