Music Academy to honour T V Gopalakrishnan

Chennai: Noted Carnatic musician T V Gopalakrishnan has been chosen for the coveted `Sangita Kalanidhi` award of the Music Academy here for this year.

The Executive Committee of the Music Academy unanimously chose Gopalakrishnan for the title and he would preside over the 88th Annual Conference of the Academy scheduled to begin from December 15, 2014, Academy President N Murali said in a release today.

Gopalakrishnan, a multifaceted musician, would be conferred the title on the final day of the event on January 1, 2015.

Vocalists `Mangad` K Natesan and Alamelu Mani were selected for the `Sangita Kala Acharya` awards while the TTK Awards would be conferred on vocalist `Malladi` Suribabu and `Udaiyalur` Kalayanaraman (Nama Sankirtanam).

The `Musicologist` Award has gone to Dr Padma Murthy while the `Pappa Venkataramiah Award` for violin would be given to `Lalgudi` Rajalakshmi.

Noted Bharatanatyam exponent and former Kalakshetra Director Leela Samson would be awarded the "Natya Kala Acharya Award", the release said.