BSP convenes meet to discuss Cut Motion against UPA govt

BSP MPs will meet on Tuesday to decide their course of action in the Parliament when the Opposition moves Cut Motions against the UPA govt.

New Delhi: Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has convened a meeting of its MPs on Tuesday to decide their course of action in the Parliament when the Opposition moves Cut Motions against the UPA government’s budget proposals.

According to reports, the BSP MPs are scheduled to meet early this morning.

Even with the main opposition parties are trying to unite all like-minded parties to corner the ruling alliance, BSP MP Vijay Bahadur Singh has indicated that his party is unlikely to go along with the main opposition BJP

"The BJP is restless for power. There is fault in their policies," Singh told reporters.

The BSP, which supports the government from outside, is not expected to support the opposition move. Its stance is being linked to the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) telling the Supreme Court that it was prepared to consider Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Mayawati`s plea for closing a disproportionate assets case against her.

The BSP has 21 members in the House.

The Congress has issued a whip to its members to be present in the house when the guillotine is applied on demands for grants of certain ministries. Parliamentary Affairs Ministry sources said the guillotine is expected to be applied at 6 pm Tuesday.

The opposition parties are against the government`s decision to hike the prices of urea and petrol and diesel, and are expected to move cut motions on the demands by the Chemicals and Fertiliser Ministry and the Petroleum Ministry.

Congress sources said the 21-member BSP could abstain if there is voting.

The UPA partners and supporters include Congress - 207, Trinamool Congress - 19, DMK - 18, Nationalist Congress Party - 9, National Conference -3, Muslim League - 2, Kerala Congress (M) - 1, All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen - 1, Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi-1, Sikkim Democratic Front - 1, Bodoland People`s Front - 1, Jharkhand Vikas Morcha - 1, Bahujan Vikas Aaghadi-1, Assam United Democratic Front-1, Nominated-2.

There are nine independent members in the Lok Sabha, some of whom support the UPA.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link