Gujarat Election Results 2012: 16 women MLAs make it to assembly

Sixteen women candidates emerged victorious in the Gujarat assembly elections, same as last time, 12 of whom belonged to BJP and four from Congress.

Ahmedabad: Sixteen women candidates emerged victorious in the Gujarat assembly elections, same as last time, 12 of whom belonged to BJP and four from Congress.

There were 91 female candidates in the fray this time compared to 88 in the 2007 elections.

The BJP had fielded 19 women candidates and the Congress 14 and remaining were from other political outfits and independents.

Among the 12 women candidates who won on BJP ticket, the one who stands out is chief minister Narendra Modi`s close aide and revenue minister Anandi Patel, who won from Ghatlodia constituency in Ahmedabad city by a record margin.

She had earlier contested from Patan but had to vacate her constituency this time after delimitation altered political equations and the party handed her a ticket from Ghatlodia, an urban seat.

Patel won by a margin of whopping 1,10,395 votes, having polled 1,54,599 votes against her nearest rival Ramesh Patel of Congress who managed to get only 44,204 votes.

BJP, which had fielded Dr Maya Kodnani, a Sindhi and a gynaecologist from Naroda assembly constituency in the 2007 assembly polls, gave ticket to another Sindhi and a practising gynaecologist Dr Nirmala Wadhwani this time as Kodnani was convicted in the 2002 Naroda Patiya massacre case.

Wadhwani bagged 96,333 votes to defeat her nearest Congress rival Bhavan Bharwad by 58,352 votes.

BJP`s Manisha Vakil won the Vadodara City (SC) seat defeating her nearest rival Jayshree Solanki of Congress by a huge margin of 51,889 votes.

Varsha Doshi of BJP defeated Congress` Himanshu Vyas by 17,558 votes in Wadhwan constituency in Surendranagar district.

Across the nine assembly seats in Bhavnagar district, BJP had fielded three women and they all won by handsome margin.

In Rajkot Rural, a seat reserved for Scheduled Caste candidate, BJP`s Bhanu Babariya defeated Lakha Sagathiya by 11,466 votes.

In Jamnagar district, BJP had fielded two women candidates and both of them won, albeit in a contrasting manner. While sitting MLA and a Minister of State Vasu Trivedi scraped through from Jamnagar South seat with a margin of 2,862 votes, BJP`s Poonam Madam, niece of Congress MP Vikram Madam, won from Khambalia by a margin of 38,382 votes.

Poonam Madam had switched over to BJP a day after Congress denied her ticket to contest the polls.

Sangita Patil won on BJP ticket from Limbayat assembly constituency in Surat district, defeating Suresh Sonavane of Congress by 30,321 votes.

Among the four women candidates who emerged victorious on Congress tickets, one of them passed away this afternoon.

Savita Khant, who had won by 11,289 votes from the newly formed Morva Hadaf Assembly constituency in Panchmahal district, died of brain hemorrhage.

Congress` Chandrika Bariya won from Garbada (ST) Assembly constituency in Dahod district defeating her BJP compatriot Mohindra Rathod by 35,574 votes.

In Viramgam assembly constituency in Ahmedabad rural, Dr Tejashree Patel of Congress defeated sitting BJP MLA Pragji Patel by 16,983 votes while in Dehgam, in Gandhinagar district, Kamini Rathod of Congress overcame BJP`s Rohit Thakor by a slender margin of 2,297 votes.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link