UP election results: Samajwadi Party storms back to power

The Samajwadi Party is all set to form the next government in Uttar Pradesh, after an impressive showing in the Assembly polls 2012.

Zeenews Bureau

Lucknow: Putting up its best-ever performance, Samajwadi Party on Tuesday stormed to power in Uttar Pradesh with a stunning majority routing Mayawati-led BSP, the third time a party captured power on its own in the state in
two decades.

SP, which was ousted from power in 2007 on law and
order issues, avenged its defeat at the hands of BSP which was
reduced to 80 seats from 206 five years ago.

The Mulayam Singh Yadav-led party has captured 224 seats
in the 403-member.

BJP was placed in third spot with 47 seats while Congress
was relegated to fourth place with a tally of 28 seats.

While BJP this time lost four seats from its 2007 tally
Congress improved its position marginally from what it was
five years ago.

SP`s previous best performance was winning 143 seats in
2002 elections in a triangular contest with BSP and BJP.

The party`s impressive performance could be gauged from
the fact that it not only snatched seats from BSP but also
made inroads into the stronghold of BJP like Lucknow.

However, the biggest upset has been the dismal performance of Congress, especially in Uttar Pradesh. Gandhi family scion Rahul Gandhi had personally micro-managed the poll campaign and had staked his prestige to see his party emerge from its 22-year hibernation in the politically crucial state.

Though the party`s tally has improved slightly as
compared to 2007 when it had won 22 seats, several of its
stalwarts lost this time.

While veteran Congress leader Ammar Rizvi lost from
Sewta seat, security deposit of Louis Khurshid, wife of Union
Law Minister Salman Khurshid, was forefeited in Farukkhabad.

The party performed poorly even in the bastion of
Nehru-Gandhi family--Rae Bareli and Amethi Lok Sabha
constituencies represented by Sonia Gandhi and Rahul

While the party lost all the five seats in Rae Bareli,
Lok Sabha constituency, it was defeated in three out of the
five constituencies in Amethi.

Even its three-time MLA from Amethi Amita Singh, wife
of Congress MP from Sultanpur Sanjay Singh, also lost her
seat. Similar was the situation in Sultanpur where all the
five seats were won by SP.

The party paid the price of the feud between Union Steel
Minister Beni Prasad Verma and Chairman National SC/ST
Commission PL Punia as the party failed to win a single seat
in their bastion Barabanki. Verma`s son Rakesh Verma was
placed third in Dariyabad seat.

Abhishek Pal, son of Congress MP Jagdambika Pal, lost
in Basti Sadar seat.

The only solace for the party was its state president
Rita Bahuguna Joshi and CLP leader Pramod Tiwari winning from
Lucknow Cantt and Rampur Khas seats respectively.

No less dismal was the show of BJP which fell from its tally of 51 seats in 2007.

Except Uma Bharati from Charkhari and Kalraj Mishra from
Lucknow East and Deputy leader Hukkum Singh, almost all
its stalwarts and senior leaders lost.

Among those defeated were state party president Surya
Pratap Shahi from Pathardeva, former state president Ramapati
Ram Tripathi from Siswan, leader of the legislature party Om
Prakash Singh from Chunar, former state president and
ex-Speaker of Vidhan Sabha Kesari Nath Tripathi.

BSP, whose rule was marred by allegations of corruption
and scam, failed to make much of an impact on the electorate
despite operation clean-up by party supremo and CM Mayawati.

Several of its ministers, including Chaudhary Laxmi
Narain, Lalji Verma, Jagdish Narain Rai, Nand Gopal Gupta
Nandi, Abdul Mannan, Sangram Singh Verma, Jaiveer Singh and
Speaker Sukhdeo Rajbhar, lost.

The results were encouraging for Peace Party of India,
whose three candidates state president Ayub, Akhilesh Singh
and Yusuf Mullick emerged victorious.

The elections, which have taken place in the middle of the last Lok Sabha election in 2009 and the next in 2014, are being considered some sort of "semi-final" for the UPA and NDA.

With PTI inputs

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link