This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

74 govt officials under CVC scanner

Last Updated: Tuesday, June 19, 2012 - 16:23

New Delhi: Seventy-four government officials, including 10 from the Municipal Corporation of Delhi, have been penalised by the Central Vigilance Commission for their alleged involvement in corruption.

Out of them, eight officials are from Allahabad Bank, six from State Bank of India, four from Hindustan Copper Limited, three each from Indian Council of Agricultural Research and Employees Provident Fund Organisation, the CVC said in its performance report for April.

It said two officers each from Dena Bank, Punjab National Bank, Union Bank of India, Department of Mines, Ministry of Labour, Central Board of Direct Taxes and Delhi Development Authority, and one each from Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan, Andhra Bank, Canara Bank among others have been imposed penalty.

The probity watchdog processed 5,078 complaints (including 39 whistle blower complaints) during the month and sought investigation or factual report in 18 complaints from the concerned ministries or departments.

The Chief Technical Examiner`s wing of the Commission effected a recovery of about Rs 1.47 crore after inspecting public procurement and works of different government organisations.
The CVC gave vigilance clearances for 14 officers for empanelment or board level appointments during April.

"The Commission is deeply concerned over continuing delay in filling the post of Chief Vigilance Officer in MMTC Ltd," it said.

First Published: Tuesday, June 19, 2012 - 16:23
comments powered by Disqus