This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

New Delhi: With less than two weeks to go for the Delhi polls, BJP on Wednesday distributed charge of the constituencies here among as many as 58 Union ministers and MPs as it eyes a win here after a gap of 16 years.

The charge of the constituencies was allotted by the BJP's central leadership and the leaders were tasked with looking after the party's campaign and garnering support among the people.

Union Power Minister Piyush Goyal has been asked to look after the campaign in the Model Town constituency while Shahnawaz Hussain will bolster its efforts for the poll in the minority-dominated constituencies of Matia Mahal and Okhla.

"Today, around 58 Union ministers and MPs took charge of Delhi constituencies. More than 70 MPs have been assigned to oversee preparations for the Feb. 7 polls to the 70-member Assembly," said a senior BJP leader.

Most of the leaders were given charge of one constituency each.

Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, who has been asked to look after the management of Delhi BJP, today visited the state unit's office and took the stock of poll preparations.

Union Chemicals and Fertilisers Minister Anant Kumar, too, has been asked to look after the overall management of the party in Delhi.

Senior BJP leader and MP Kirit Somaya will oversee the party's campaign in New Delhi constituency where Aam Aadmi Party convener Arvind Kejriwal is one of the contestants.

Union ministers Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi and Mahesh Sharma have been asked to push BJP's cause in the Babarpur and Laxmi Nagar constituencies, respectively.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions