This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Assembly Elections 2016 Results


Party Lead Won
BJP 0 3
TMC 0 211
CPM+ 0 32
CONG 0 44
OTH 0 4

Tamil nadu (234)

Party Lead Won
BJP 0 0
AIADMK 0 134
DMK+ 0 98
DMDK+ 0 0
OTH 0 0

Assam (126)

Party Lead Won
BJP+ 0 86
CONG+ 0 26
AIUDF+ 0 13
OTH 0 1

Kerala (140)

Party Lead Won
BJP+ 0 1
LDF 0 82
UDF 0 47
OTH 0 10


Party Lead Won
BJP 0 0
CONG+ 0 17
OTH 0 9

Congress loses Assam, Kerala; Rahul Gandhi accepts verdict of people with humility

Last Updated: Thursday, May 19, 2016 - 12:19
Congress loses Assam, Kerala; Rahul Gandhi accepts verdict of people with humility
Zee Media Bureau

New Delhi: With Congress displaying a dismal performance in Assembly Election in West Bengal, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Assam, party vice president Rahul Gandhi on Thursday accepted defeat with humility.

While congratulating the parties for their respective wins in the Assam Assembly Election 2016, West Bengal Assembly Election 2016, Tamil Nadu Assembly Election 2016, Kerala Assembly Election 2016, the Congress leader said: “We accept the verdict of people with humility. My best wishes to the parties that have won the elections.”

The Gandhi scion thanked the Congress workers and leaders and party's allies for trying hard in the Assembly polls.

“We will work harder till we win the confidence and trust of people,” Rahul asserted.

Rahul 's reaction comes after the Left Democratic Front (LDF) led by the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) was set to dethrone the Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) according to the trends.

Congress also lost Assam where the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was on the road to victory in the northeastern state for the first time.

In Tamil Nadu all exit-polls were proven wrong as J Jayalalithaa's AIADMK was on track to defeat DMK-Congress alliance.

West Bengal's ruling Trinamool Congress and Tamil Nadu's ruling AIADMK were set to retain power on Thursday.

First Published: Thursday, May 19, 2016 - 12:16
comments powered by Disqus