This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

PM Manmohan Singh elected to Rajya Sabha

Last Updated: Thursday, May 30, 2013 - 18:36

Zee Media Bureau

Guwahati: Prime Minister Manmohan Singh was on Thursday elected to Rajya Sabha from Assam for fifth consecutive term.

The victory of Prime Minister and Congress candidate Manmohan Singh was certain since he was the only contestant for the first preference votes of 78 Congress MLAs in the 126-member Assembly.
The Prime Minister`s four sets of nomination papers endorsed by 40 MLAs submitted under oath to the Returning Officer on May 15 at the Assembly were found in order on scrutiny day on May 23.

Singh had filed a fresh affidavit two days before scrutiny correcting his age in his nomination papers as 80 years and not 82 years.
Polling was held from 9 am to 4 pm at the Assembly and votes were counted the same day at 5 pm with the election process concluding before June 3 next as per the Election Commission of India May 13 notification.

With PTI inputs

First Published: Thursday, May 30, 2013 - 09:41

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus