Easy openers for Saurav, Joshna
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Wednesday, September 22, 2010, 23:16
New Delhi: India's top squash players Saurav Ghosal and Joshna Chinappa have got easy draws in the singles event of the Commonwealth Games from October 3-14.

Saurav, who is seeded 11th will meet unseeded Ugandan Ian Rukunya in the first round while 15th seed Joshna will be up against unseeded Malaysian Sharon Wee.

Hosts India are expected to win their first ever medal in squash if the women's doubles where Joshna Chinappa and Dipika Pallikal have been seeded second.

Malaysian Nicol David, who celebrated her 50th successive month as world number one this month, is the firm favourite to win the women's singles gold medal for the first time - while Englishman Nick Matthew, the world number two, is top seed in the men's individual event, according to the draws announced today by the World Squash Federation.

England, Australia and Malaysia are expected to share the maximum gold medals at the event to be played at the superb new eleven-court Siri Fort Squash Complex -- which features an all-glass centre court -- from October 4-13.

As the seeding suggests, the remaining singles medals may be England's - with James Willstrop, the world number six, who was runner-up in this week's British Grand Prix in Manchester, winning silver and Peter Barker bronze.

World number two Jenny Duncalf is seeded to be runner-up in the women's individual event, while her England team-mate Alison Waters is the bronze prediction.

Yorkshireman Nick Matthew teams up with Londoner Adrian Grant for the Men's Doubles, in which a gold medal is predicted for the English pair.

But Australia are expected to win gold in both the Women's and Mixed Doubles - with New South Wales's Kasey Brown lining up with Donna Urquhart as favourites in the women's event, and teaming up with Cameron Pilley, also from NSW, as top seeds in the mixed championship.

Draws: (only Indians)

Men's Singles 1st round draw:

Siddharth Suchde (IND) v Michael Hopkins (JEY) [14] Ryan Cuskelly (AUS) v Sandeep Jangra (IND) [11] Saurav Ghosal (IND) v Ian Rukunya (UGA) Harinder Pal Sandhu (IND) v Shopon Pervez (BAN)

Women's Singles 1st round draw:

[15] Joshna Chinappa (IND) v Sharon Wee (MAS) [16] Alana Miller (CAN) v Anwesha Reddy (IND) [14] Dipika Pallikal (IND) v Natalie Dodd (GGY) or Stephanie Edmison (CAN) [10] Sarah Kippax (ENG) v Anaka Alankamony (IND).


First Published: Wednesday, September 22, 2010, 23:16

comments powered by Disqus