Chandigarh Municipal Corporation election results: BJP-SAD alliance attains clear majority

The Bharatya Janata Party-Shiromani Akali Dal alliance won 20 out of the 26 wards in the Chandigarh Municipal Corporation polls on Tuesday.

Chandigarh Municipal Corporation election results: BJP-SAD alliance attains clear majority

Chandigarh: It seems there is no negative impact of demonetisation for the Narendra Modi-powered BJP in Punjab. The Bharatya Janata Party-Shiromani Akali Dal alliance showcased an impressive performance by winning 20 out of the 26 wards in the Chandigarh Municipal Corporation polls on Tuesday

The BJP won 20 seats, Congress 4, Independent 1.

The results of the election to 26 wards of Chandigarh Municipal Corporation were considered to be a litmus test for both BJP and Congress post demonetisation.

Prominent among those who won the crucial municipal polls were BJP Mayor Arun Sood, and Congress stalwart Devinder Singh Babla.BJP Mayor Arun Sood, and Congress stalwart Devinder Singh Babla.

Commenting on the impressive performance, BJP MP Kirron Kher said the party implemented the schemes announced by PM Narendra Modi at the ground level. She thanked the people of Chandigarh for giving BJP the popular mandate.

Earlier updates:

According to ANI, BJP was leading in 20 seats, Congress in 4, Shiromani Akali Dal in 1 and Independent was also ahead on only 1 seat.

BJP supporters were seen celebrating outside BJP office in Chandigarh. 

Latest trends show that BJP was surging ahead in 17 seats, while Congress was only ahead in four.

According to latest reports, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is leading in 11 seats, Congress on two.

The overall polling percentage in the Chandigarh Municipal Corporation election on Monday jumped to a record 59.54 percent. The fate of 122 candidates, including 67 Independents, will be known today.

The bigwigs which are in the fray: Three-time councillor and former mayor Subash Chawala (Cong), BJP leader Saurabh Joshi and Congress stalwart Devinder Singh Babla and present mayor Arun Sood of BJP.

The results will be test of prestige of key political faces MP Kirron Kher (BJP), former Chandigarh MPs Pawan Kumar Bansal (Cong), Harmohan Dhawan (BJP), Satya Pal Jain (BJP) and Chandigarh BJP president Sanjay Tandon.

The total number of voters are 5,07,627, including 2,37,374 female voters.

The Municipal Corporation has 36 members, of which 26 are elected councillors, nine are nominated councillors and one is an MP (ex-officio member of the House).

At present, BJP has 15 councillors, Congress has nine, BSP has one and one is Independent.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link