Premier Badminton League auction: Top 50 shuttlers to go under hammer on Monday

Premier Badminton League, formerly Indian Badminton League, will start on January 2 in Mumbai.

PTI| Last Updated: Dec 06, 2015, 19:06 PM IST
Premier Badminton League auction: Top 50 shuttlers to go under hammer on Monday

New Delhi: As many as 50 top shuttlers, including Indian stars Saina Nehwal and Kidambi Srikanth, will be up for grabs when the auction for the Premier Badminton League gets underway here on Monday.

The Indian Badminton League (IBL), which has been rechristened as the Premier Badminton League (PBL) recently, today announced the names of Mumbai, Chennai, Bangalore and Hyderabad franchisees.

While Mumbai was taken by Devyani Leisures Pvt. Ltd., the Chennai team was picked by The Wones Pvt. Ltd., Bangalore team will be owned by BrandPrix Consulting Pvt. Ltd. And Agile Security Force Pvt. Ltd. Will be the proud owners of Hyderabad team.

These four franchises along with Lucknow and Delhi, who are owned by Sahara India and Infinite Computer Solutions respectively, will be locked in a battle to get the best players in their respective teams.

The Mumbai team has been christened as Mumbai Rockets, Lucknow will be known as Awadh Warriors, Delhi coined as Delhi Acers, Chennai named Chennai Smashers, Bengaluru titled Bengaluru Top Guns and Hyderabad tagged as Hyderabad Hunters.

Speaking on the announcement, Akhilesh Das Gupta, Badminton Association of India President & PBL Chairman said: "I welcome all franchisees on board the Premier Badminton League. I am sure they with us will make the upcoming edition a huge success and a name to reckon with.

"Tomorrow is a big day for each franchisee as each is gearing up for the all important auction. I wish all of them good luck and hope we all together create a successful Premier Badminton League 2016."

BAI had organised IBL in 2013 but thereafter for two years -- 2014 and 2015 -- the League did not take place.

The lucrative tournament, now known as PBL, will kick-start on January 2 in Mumbai with an extravagant opening ceremony and the grand finale will take place here on January 17.