Tendulkar wins Cricketer of the Year award

Updated: Oct 31, 2010, 09:13 AM IST

Mumbai: Capping a splendid season in which he scored the first-ever double century in ODIs and crossed 14,000 runs in Test cricket, iconic batsman Sachin Tendulkar was named the Indian Cricketer of the Year at the second Sahara India Sports Awards function here.

37-year-old Tendulkar, who was earlier named the ICC Cricketer of the Year for his superb show in both Tests and ODIs, beat back the challenge of India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Virender Sehwag and Suresh Raina to be given the honour by the eminent 14-member jury headed by another cricket legend Sunil Gavaskar.

Tendulkar scored 1,064 runs, from August, 2009, to September, 2010, in 10 Tests with six centuries and three fifties. In 17 ODIs, he scored 914 runs with three hundreds, including a world record 200 not out against South Africa at Gwalior on February 24 this year and two fifties during the period under consideration.

“This is the first time I am getting the opportunity to congratulate all sportspersons who have made the country proud. So, congratulations to all of you. I also thank all my colleagues. Without you, this award would not have been possible”, the batting maestro said while receiving the award.

The Best Woman Cricketer of the Year award was bagged by former national captain Mithali Raj.

Rifle shooter Gagan Narang, who picked up four gold medals in the Commonwealth Games in Delhi earlier this month, and young Jamshedpur-based woman archer Deepika Kumari, who bagged two gold medals in the Games, were declared winners of the best male and female athletes in the multi-sport extravaganza. These were two special awards for performances outside the period under consideration.

Sachin Tendulkar was also presented the Icon of The Millennium award. Five-time world boxing champion M C Mary Kom was named the sportswoman of the year and world wrestling champion Sushil Kumar was named the sportsman of the year.

Indian Davis cup team was named the team of the year.

The evening was studded with performances by Bollywood stars Shah Rukh Khan, Kareena Kapoor, Sonakshi Sinha, Prachi Desai and Jacqueline Fernandez amongst others.

However, the highlight of the evening was the small jig performed by superstars of Indian cricket including Sunil Gavaskar, Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Rahul Dravid and Anil Kubmble along with Shah Rukh on the stage.

The award winners are:

Best Young Achiever (Male): Asher Noria (Shooting)

Best young Achiever (Female): Soumya Swaminathan (Chess)

Cricketer of the Year (Male) :Sachin Tendulkar

Cricketer of the year (Female) :Mithali Raj

Outstanding Performers of the year :Suranjoy Singh (Boxing), Achanta Sharath Kamal (Table Tennis), Pankaj Advani (Billiards and Snooker), Om Prakash Singh (Shot Put)

Best Male athlete CWG: Gagan Narang (Shooting)

Best Female athlete CWG: Deepika Kumari (Archery)

Coach of the Year :Yashvir Singh (Wrestling)

Memorable Moment of the year :Vishwanathan Anand (successfully defended his title at the World Chess Championship being held since 2001)

Unsung heroes (Rs five lakh each): SHH Hamid (Football Olympian) and Manohar Topno (Hockey Olympian).

Legend award: Gurbachan Singh Randhawa (finsihed 7th in men’s 100m hurdles in the 1964 Tokyo Olympics).