Prasanth, Watekar tons put Andhra on top against Tripura

Anantapur: Riding on centuries by openers Prasanth Kumar and Hemal Watekar, Andhra Pradesh posted 436 for eight declared to take a solid 176-run first innings lead over Tripura on the third and penultimate day of their Group C Ranji Trophy match here on Sunday.

Tripura were 21 for no loss at stumps with Subhrajit Roy and Samrat Singha on crease at 15 and six, respectively.

Having started the day on 154 for no loss, Andhra`s openers -- Prasanth, who resumed on 80 not out and Watekar unbeaten on 57 -- went on hit tons each, besides sharing a 227-run partnership for the opening wicket.

Bodapati Sumanth (83) also made important contribution to the team`s total.

Prasanth was the first one to depart after spending 407 minutes in the middle, scoring 119 off 263 balls. He hit 11 fours and a six.

When Watekar got out for 368-ball 116 with the help of nine boundaries and spending 505 at the crease, Andhra were already way past Tripura`s first innings total of 260.

For Tripura, Tushar Saha was the pick of the bowlers with figures of three for 119, while Rana Dutta claimed two for 61.

Brief scores:

Tripura: 260 & 21 for no loss in 11 overs (Subhrajit Roy not out 15, Samrat Singha not out 6).

Andhra Pradesh: 436 for eight in 140 overs (Prasanth Kumar 119, Hemal Watekar 116, Bodapati Sumanth 83; Tushar Saha 3/119).


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link