Ranji Trophy: RP takes four as UP get first innings lead against Baroda

Baroda: Senior pacer Rudra Pratap Singh grabbed four wickets as Uttar Pradesh managed a sizeable first innings lead of 74 runs against hosts Baroda in a group B encounter of the Ranji Trophy at the Moti Bagh ground here on Friday.

After finishing their first innings at 302, UP bowlers came back well to dismiss Baroda for 228 in 92.4 overs thereby ensuring a healthy first innings lead.

Despite half-centuries from opener Saurabh Wakaskar (70), senior pros Ambati Rayudu (65) and Rakesh Solanki (51), Baroda lost seven wickets for only 44 runs as RP (4/50 in 18,4 overs) ran through the middle and lower-order after skipper Suresh Raina (2/19 in 13 overs) provided couple of initial breakthroughs.

Raina removed opener Aditya Waghmode (13) and No 3 batsman Abhimanyu Chauhan (0) in one over as he maneged to extract turn and bounce from the track.

At 32 for two, left-handed opener Wakaskar shared a 68-run third wicket partnership with another left-hander Rakesh Solanki. Wakaskar hit 10 fours and a six in his 139-ball knock as he was finally out caught by Tanmay Srivastava off left-arm spinner Praveen Gupta`s bowling.
Wakaskar`s departure brought Rayudu to the crease and along with Solanki added 84 runs for the fourth wicket.

At 184 for three, Solanki`s patient 165-ball effort came to an end as he was caught by close-in fielder Srivastava off Gupta`s bowling.

Skipper Yusuf Pathan didn`t last long as he gave a simple catch to Arish Alam of leggie Piyush Chawla`s bowling.

Once the second new ball was taken, RP and Imitiaz shared the spoils. RP bowled two while trapping the other two leg before as he got the new ball to dart back into right handers.

Rayudu, who looked fluent during his 134-ball knock that had nine fours nicked one to Aamir Khan behind the stumps off Imtiaz`s bowling.

Brief Scores: UP 1st Innings 302 in 91.2 overs (Suresh Raina 123, Mohammed Kaif 39, Utkarsh
Patel 5/78).

Baroda 1st Innings 228 in 92.4 overs (Saurabh Wakaskar 70, Ambati Rayudu 65, RP Singh 4/50, Suresh Raina 2/19).