India vs New Zealand, 1st Test: Tom Latham was caught off a legal delivery but was declared not out – Here's why!
Desperately looking for a second breakthrough, Indian players went up in air in the 36th over of the innings when Latham tried to sweep one, but got an edge - which riocheted from his shoe and went straight to Rahul at short leg.
New Delhi: Much to the surprise of Virat Kohli and his men, New Zealand have put a tremendous show in the opening Test of the three-match series thus far.
After bowling India out for 318 in first innings, Kane Williamson-led Kiwis were in driver's set at 152/1 on Day 2, before rain interrupted proceedings.
After losing Martin Guptill (21) early in the innings, opener Tom Latham and Williamson added a formidable unbeaten 115-run stand for the second-wicket partneship.
While the skipper played a flawless knock, the left-hander for fortunate to get a second life after being cleanly caught at short leg by Lokesh Rahul off Ravindra Jadeja's bowling.
Desperately looking for a second breakthrough, Indian players went up in air in the 36th over of the innings when Latham tried to sweep one, but got an edge - which riocheted from his shoe and went straight to Rahul at short leg. The umpire wasn't convinced as he referred the decision to third umpire.
The replays suggested that while there was no impact between the ball and the pitch, since Rahul took it in the second attempt, the ball deflected out of his hands and hit the strap of his helmet before he grabbed it completely.
As per the rules:
As per Law 32 of the Marylebone Cricket Club's Laws of Cricket pertaining to fair catches, "
...it is not a fair catch if at any time after having been struck by the bat and before a catch is completed the ball has touched a protective helmet worn by a fielder."
Latham was batting on 47 when the incident happened and had reached 56, before the ground had to be covered.
It remains to be seen whether he can convert it into a century.