2nd Test, Day 2: India vs West Indies - Statistical highlights

Mumbai: Statistical highlights on day two of the second cricket Test between India and West Indies, here on Friday.

Cheteshwar Pujara is the first batsman to amass 500 runs for India in Tests this year, aggregating 549 (ave.78.42) in six Tests (nine innings), including two centuries and two fifties.

Murali Vijay has the next best tally for India in Tests in 2013 - 499 at an average of 55.44 in nine innings.

Vijay, Pujara and Rohit Sharma have each registered two hundreds for India in Tests this year.

Pujara`s feat of recording five hundreds in first 24 Test innings is without parallel in Indian Cricket.

Pujara (113 off 167 balls) has recorded his first hundred vs West Indies. His home record is excellent, totalling 1279 in 13 Tests (21 innings) at an average of 75.23, including five centuries and three fifties.

Pujara`s 146-ball century vs West Indies is his fastest in Tests.

Sachin Tendulkar (74) has posted his 68th fifty in Tests - his tenth vs West Indies. In first team innings, Tendulkar is averaging 60-plus - his aggregate being 11300 (ave.60.10) in 197 innings, including 38 centuries and 46 fifties.

Tendulkar has managed 921 at an average of 48.47, including a century and eight fifties in eleven Tests at Wankhede Stadium - the second most tally at one venue behind the 970 (ave.88.18) in ten Tests at Chepauk. He has recorded nine fifty-plus innings at Wankhede Stadium - the most by him at any ground, bettering the eight at Eden Gardens.

Tendulkar and Pujara were associated in a partnership of 144. The said partnership is India`s first century stand for the third wicket against the West Indies at Wankhede Stadium.

Tendulkar has been involved in 86 century partnerships - the second highest in Tests, next only to Rahul Dravid`s 88.

Rohit Sharma and Mohammed Shami put on a 80-run stand - a tenth wicket Indian record against the West Indies, surpassing the 64 between Venkatapathy Raju and Javagal Srinath at Mohali in 1994-95.

The 80-run partnership is the highest tenth-wicket partnership at Wankhede Stadium, surpassing the 68 between Phill Tufnell and Graeme Hick for England in February 1993.

In the course of his 57 off 78 balls, Virat Kohli has recorded strike rate of 73.07 - his highest in an innings of fifty-plus in Tests. His third fifty vs West Indies is his seventh in Tests.

Ravichandran Ashwin has claimed 39 wickets at 18.92 runs apiece in only six Tests this year. The said performance is his career-best in a calendar year.

Only three bowlers have bagged more wickets than Ashwin this year - Stuart Broad (45), Dale Steyn (41) and James Anderson (41).

Ashwin has become the first all-rounder to complete 100 wickets besides totalling 750-plus runs after 18 Tests.

Shane Shillingford has now bagged five wickets or more in an innings in five consecutive innings. Before visiting India, he had three five-wicket hauls vs Zimbabwe and one each at Eden Gardens,Kolkata (6/167) and Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai (5/179).

Only Australia`s Charlie Turner has produced more five-wicket instances (six) in a row in Tests, all against England in 1888. England`s Tom Richardson and Sir Alec Bedser have also registered five wickets or more in an innings five times in a row.

Shillingford (43-6-179-5) has recorded an unwanted feat by conceding the most number of runs for the West Indies against India in an innings in Tests, surpassing his figures of 55-9-167-6 at Eden Gardens in the first Test of the current series.

Shillingford became the second West Indian spinner after Lance Gibbs to bag five wickets in an innings at Wankhede Stadium. Gibbs had captured 7 for 98 in January 1975.

Darren Sammy became the first West Indian and the seventh fielder to take five catches in a Test innings, joining Vic Richardson, Graeme Smith, Stephen Fleming, Yajurvindra Singh, Mohammad Azharuddin and Kris Srikkanth.

Rohit Sharma has become the second Indian batsman after Sourav Ganguly and the fifth in Test annals to register two centuries in the first two innings. The three other batsmen to have recorded the feat are - Lawrence Rowe, Alvin Kallicharran and Yasir Hameed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link