Gayle smashes fastest century in cricket history

Updated: Apr 23, 2013, 18:13 PM IST

Bangalore: Swashbuckling West Indian opener Chris Gayle hit the fastest century ever in all forms of cricket on Tuesday evening.


Gayle took 30 balls to score a ton against the Pune Warriors in the ongoing sixth edition of the Indian Premier League.

Gayle remained unbeaten on 175 off just 66 balls with 13 boundaries and 17 sixes as Bangalore posted 264/5, the highest team total in IPL.

His century contained nine boundaries and 13 sixes at the time of the filing of this report. He was batting on 127 of 48 balls out of a total score of 161 for no loss for the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Gayle broke ex-Australian player Andrew Symonds record of a century in 34 balls.

Sri Lankan opener Tillekratne Dilshan was out for 33 of 36 balls with five boundaries.

Earlier Pune Warriors won the toss and chose to bowl against the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Pune Warriors team is being led by Aaron Finch.

The visiting team was hoping to take advantage of the overcast conditions in Bangalore, but Gayle proved to be the party spoiler.

Royal Challengers remained unchanged for the game; Warriors made three changes.

The Warriors picked Mitchell Marsh, a medium-pace bowling all rounder in place of Ajantha Mendis, and brought in left-arm spinner Ali Murtaza for legspinner Rahul Sharma.

They chose to play seamer Ishwar Pandey, the leading wicket-taker in the Ranji Trophy this season, in place of all-rounder Abhishek Nayar.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: 1 Chris Gayle, 2 Tillakaratne Dilshan, 3 Virat Kohli (capt), 4 AB de Villiers, 5 Saurabh Tiwary, 6 KB Arun Karthik (wk), 7 Ravi Rampaul, 8 R Vinay Kumar, 9 Murali Kartik, 10 RP Singh, 11 Jaidev Unadkat.

Pune Warriors: 1 Robin Uthappa (wk), 2 Aaron Finch (capt), 3 Yuvraj Singh, 4 Steven Smith, 5 Luke Wright, 6 Mitchell Marsh, 7 Mithun Manhas, 8 Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 9 Ishwar Pandey, 10 Ali Murtaza, 11 Ashok Dinda.