This ad will auto close in 10 seconds
Indian Premier League: Big boost for Kolkata Knight Riders as star spinner Sunil Narine's bowling action cleared

New Delhi: The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Thursday cleared star West Indies off-spinner Sunil Narine's bowling action.

Narine can now resume bowling in international and domestic cricket events.

.@westindies Sunil Narine's action found to be legal, can now resume bowling in international cricket & domestic cricket events worldwide

The 27-year-old Trinidadian was suspended in November last year after being cited during a one-day match in Sri Lanka. He had also been reported for a similar problem at the 2014 Champions League T20 tournament.

This news comes as a shot in the arm for Narine's Indian Premier League franchise Kolkata Knight Riders.

Over the years, the offie has been a central part of the Kolkata side, picking up over 20 wickets in most editions.

The Gautam Gambhir-led side open their IPL 2016 campaign against Delhi Daredevils on Sunday at the Eden Gardens.

However, Narine may still not feature in KKR's side for the opener after he rushed back home due to the demise of his father.

"We are certainly not putting any pressure on him to get back. It's something that I've been through. I know how tough a time it is. When he's right and he feels he's ready to play cricket he will come to us," said KKR head coach Jacques Kallis.

Narine has played six Tests in his stop-start career, taking 21 wickets. He also has 77 wickets in 55 ODIs and 40 victims in Twenty20.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions

Rising Pune Supergiant Vs Mumbai Indians

May 21  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians beat Rising Pune Supergiant by 1 run


May 19  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians won by 6 wickets with 33 balls remaining

IPL 2017 Points Table

TEAMS MP Won Lost Pts
MI 14 10 4 20
RPS 14 9 5 18
SRH 14 8 5 17
KKR 14 8 5 16
KXIP 14 7 7 14
DD 14 6 8 12
GL 14 4 10 8
RCB 14 3 10 7


1 David Warner
2 Gautam Gambhir
KKR | 498 Runs
3 Shikhar Dhawan
SRH | 479 Runs


1 Bhuvneshwar Kumar
26 Wickets
2 Jaydev Unadkat
RPS | 24 Wickets
3 Jasprit Bumrah
MI | 20 Wickets