IPL 2016: Individual awards for outstanding players

Kohli won both MPV and highest scorer awards.

IPL 2016: Individual awards for outstanding players

New Delhi: The 2016 Indian Premier League season came to a close with SunRisers Hyderabad beating Royal Challengers Bangalore by 8 runs at M Chinnaswamy Stadium on Sunday.

Thus SunRisers became the sixth team to win the cash-rich tournament, which is regarded as the best Twenty20 league in the world.

To recap the season, here are the individual awards.

Match of the Match: Ben Cutting (SRH), who scored 39 runs off 15 balls and also took two crucial wickets in the winning cause.

Emerging Player of IPL 2016: Mustafizur Rahman (SRH), who toyed with world's best batsmen with his accurate, virtually unplayable deliveries. His tournament figures: 61 overs, 17 wickets with an average of 6.90.

Highest Scorer: Virat Kohli (RCB) takes the orange cap with an enviable total of 973 runs in 16 innings. He scored four hundreds and seven fifties.

Most Valuable Player: Kohli was undoutedly the man of the moment. After a sluggish start, RCB banked on their skipper to make it to the final.

Highest Wicket-taker: Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH) took 23 wickets in 17 matches, to beat Yuzvendra Chahal's 21 in 13 matches.

Best catch: Suresh Raina, the Gujarat Lions skipper took a blinder at first slip to get rid of Kolkata Knight Rider's Suryakumar Yadav in a round-robin match. It will go down as one of the greatest catches the game has even seen.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link