This ad will auto close in 10 seconds
IPL 2016: Probably we should have got 200 runs, says KKR's Manish Pandey after MI loss

New Delhi: Kolkata Knight Riders batsman Manish Pandey lamented that his side should have posted a score of 200 runs after the position they were in against defending champions Mumbai Indians at the Eden Gardens, Kolkata in the ongoing Indian Premier League season 9.

"With the way we started, probably we should have got 200. At least myself, Gautibhai (Gautam Gambhir) or Russell should have stayed till the end," Pandey said.

Pandey scored an impressive 52 from 29 balls and KKR managed to put 187/5. Their target was chased down in 19.1 overs. 

Pandey said that after his and Andre Russel's dismissals, the job for two new batters got tough.

"In the middle overs we were thinking 200, that's what we were discussing. After I got out Russell had a decent partnership with the captain. There was a stage when there were new batsmen at both the ends. It's not easy for any team to have two new batsmen on the crease and go for it. That's what we lacked a bit," he said.

Kolkata Knight Riders were cruising at 163/2 after 17 overs with half centuries from skipper Gambhir (64 from 52 balls) and Pandey (52 from 29 balls) while Russell had a cameo of 17-ball 36.

The Indian cricketer also felt that the wicket became easier for MI and that the opponent cashed on to it.

"The wicket became a little better and it gave a little bit of advantage. I think that's what Mumbai capitalised on. Now we lost the game we might think we're 20 runs short. Overall it's a good effort by our team," said Pandey.

(With PTI inputs)

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions

Rising Pune Supergiant Vs Mumbai Indians

May 21  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians beat Rising Pune Supergiant by 1 run


May 19  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians won by 6 wickets with 33 balls remaining

IPL 2017 Points Table

TEAMS MP Won Lost Pts
MI 14 10 4 20
RPS 14 9 5 18
SRH 14 8 5 17
KKR 14 8 5 16
KXIP 14 7 7 14
DD 14 6 8 12
GL 14 4 10 8
RCB 14 3 10 7


1 David Warner
2 Gautam Gambhir
KKR | 498 Runs
3 Shikhar Dhawan
SRH | 479 Runs


1 Bhuvneshwar Kumar
26 Wickets
2 Jaydev Unadkat
RPS | 24 Wickets
3 Jasprit Bumrah
MI | 20 Wickets