Jadhav, Samson guide India A to win over NPS

Darwin: Kedar Jadhav rescued India A after a top-order collapse to guide them to a three-wicket triumph over Australia`s National Performance Squad (NPS) in their fifth match of the ongoing quadrangular series here on Tuesday.

Set a target of 235, India A ended with 238 for seven in 39.5 overs after being reduced to 63 for five at one stage.

Jadhav smashed 87 off only 53 balls and added 112 runs for the sixth wicket with Sanju Samson (55 no) to take India A to victory when all seemed lost.

Jadhav hit 11 boundaries and four huge sixes off leg-spinner James Muirhead during his innings. Samson on the otherhand curbed his natural strokeplay during his 80-ball knock hitting six boundaries in the process.

Muirhead, who played for Australia in the ICC World T20, was the top wicket-taker for the NPS but he was also the costliest of the lot, conceding 92 runs in his 10 overs.

Winning inside 40 overs also helped India A get a bonus point and maintain their lead at the top of the table.

The Indians, who opted to bowl after winning the toss, stifled the NPS and managed to get a decent total on board courtesy half centuries by Jordan Silk (67) and Ashton Turner (73). Lower down the order, Sean Abott also contributed valuable 41 runs to help his side`s cause.

For India, Rahul Shukla and Rishi Dhawan captured two wickets apiece. Interestingly, the Indians effected four run-outs in the match.

Silk`s 87-ball knock comprised five hits to the fence, while Turner`s 89-ball effort was studded with eight fours and a six.

The Indians have won four of their five matches so far and are on top of the table with 19 points, followed by Australia A, who have 17 points.

Brief Scores:

National Performance Squad: 234/9 in 50 overs (Jordan Silk 67, Ashton Turner 73, Rishi Dhawan 2/38)

India A: 238/7 in 50 overs (Kedar Jadhav 87, Sanju Samson 55 not out, Muirhead 4/92).

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link