North Zone win National Women`s Cricket Championship

Last Updated: Dec 07, 2011, 17:41 PM IST

Chennai: Led by Anjum Chopra, North Zone on Wednesday emerged National Women`s Cricket (Limited-overs) One-day champions, having won all four of their round robin league matches to tally 17 points in the BCCI Inter-Zonal tournament, which ended in Chennai on Wednesday.

Central Zone with 15 points finished second, while South Zone with nine points ended on the third spot.

West Zone with two points and East Zone with minus three points finished at the bottom of the table.

In the fifth and final round matches played on Wednesday, South Zone scored a six-wicket win over East Zone while Central Zone led by Mithali Raj, who scored an elegant 62 from 85 balls laced with six hits to the fence, defeated West Zone by 139 runs.

Earlier on Monday, North Zone had defeated Central Zone by 16 runs in the fourth round of the championship.

Brief Scores: East Zone: 82 all out in 40.2 overs (Jhulan Goswami 15, Kavita Roy 14; Gouher Sultana 4/12, Sunanda Yetrekar 3/13).

South Zone: 84 for 4 in 32.3 overs (Mamtha Kanojia not out 51, Resha Rawal 24; Annyesha Maitra 2/8).

Central Zone: 230 for 6 in 50 overs (Mithali Raj 62, Rumeli Dhar 42; Trupti Khot 2/50).

West Zone: 91 all out in 38.5 overs (Soniya Dabir 18; Ekta Bisht 4/31, Rumeli Dhar 3/20).