Pak team for South Africa series announced; no captain named

Karachi: A 15-member Pakistan cricket team, sans captain, was announced for the upcoming series against South Africa starting later this month.

Former Test skipper Intikhab Alam has been named as the manager of the squad for ODIs and T20 matches against the Proteas in Abu Dhabi and Dubai.

Shahid Afridi, who looked favourite to lead the team, was named in the squad, but has not been given the charge as captain, while batsman Misbah-ul-Haq makes a comeback as the PCB chose him over out of favour Younis Khan.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Kamran Akmal was also kept off the squad as he is recovering from an appendicitis operation.

The announcement was made in a press conference by PCB media manager Nadeem Sarwar, in absence of selectors and senior board officials.

Meanwhile, former cricketer Intikhab Alam returned as the manager of the team for this tour after Yawar Saeed stepped down as manager after a turbulent England tour, which saw a dismal performance by the team and spot-fixing allegation against three players -- Salman Butt, Muhammad Aamir and Muhammad Asif.

"Right now his immediate task is to manage the team in the South Africa series and the board will decide later on for other series," he said, without giving any explanation on why the squad does not have any captain.”

Earlier, Alam became coach in October 2008 and helped the Pakistan to win T20 World Cup in England, but after a shambolic tour to Australia early this year, he was replaced by Waqar Younis.

The squad includes: Imran Farhat, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Yousuf, Misbah-ul-Haq, Umar Akmal, Asad Shafiq, Fawad Alam, Shahid Afridi, Abdul Razzaq, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Abdur Rehman, Shoaib Akhtar, Tanvir Ahmed, Zulqarnain Haider.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link