Ramdin pleads not guilty to misconduct charge
London: West Indies wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin has pleaded not guilty to a charge of misconduct laid by the International Cricket Council (ICC), following his claim for a catch during the Caribbean side`s two-wicket win over Pakistan.
Ramdin, the team vice-captain, claimed a low catch off Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-Haq before he had scored, off fast bowler Kemar Roach in the ninth over of the innings Friday.
The decision was referred to the third umpire and replays showed that while Ramdin had initially taken the catch, he did not have full control of the ball before it eventually popped out.
“Ramdin is charged with breaching Article 2.2.11 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel which relates to ‘conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game’,” an ICC release said Saturday.
Ramdin will now go before a hearing here Monday.
If found guilty, he could face a fine of between half or all his match fee, or suspension from up to two One-Day Internationals.
Misbah went on to finish unbeaten on 96 as Pakistan finished on 170 all out off 48 overs, in their opening Champions Trophy match at the Oval.
More from India
More from World
More from Sports
More from Entertaiment
- UP CM Yogi Adityanath takes 50 decisions without single Cabinet meet
- Triple talaq, polygamy integral part of Islam: AIMPLB tells SC
- Triple Talaq: Why AIMPLB are opposing the petitions filed in Supreme Court?
- Etawah: UP cops caught drunk while on duty
- DNA: Should strict action be taken against stone pelters of J&K?
- Kapil Sharma–Sunil Grover fallout: Kiku Sharda finally breaks silence
- Chinese national insults Indian flag, throws it in dustbin outside Noida Oppo office; massive protest takes place
- Left to die on road, pregnant Lucknow woman writes to PM Narendra Modi to end 'triple talaq', says 'I voted for BJP'
- Here's why Donald Trump called PM Narendra Modi
- Gautam Gambhir gives Aussies perfect send-off, says true champions let their game do all the talking!