close
This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Watch this catch in BBL that confused everyone including Glenn Maxwell

Since the advent of T20 cricket, the excitement levels in the game have certainly risen thanks to some big hitting. The shortest format of cricket has seen many T20 league mushroom all across the club purely due to the entertainment value.

Watch this catch in BBL that confused everyone including Glenn Maxwell

New Delhi: Since the advent of Twenty20 cricket, the excitement levels in the game have certainly risen thanks to some big hitting. The shortest format of cricket has seen many T20 leagues mushroom all across the club purely due to the entertainment value.

However, breathtaking fielding and catching can evoke the same response and emotion from the spectators at a stadium or watching at home like a good old thrashing with the bat.

In the weekend's Big Bash League action, Sydney Thunder's Josh Lalor pulled off a brilliant catch to mesmerize the crowd and spark off a new debate in world cricket.

The incident occurred when Melbourne Stars captain Cameron White popped his shot in air towards long-on. Having struck the ball cleanly, White's shot appeared to be clearing the fence.

But the ball was plucked out of thin air by Lalor, who jumped out and back inside the ropes to complete the catch.

That effort from Lalor had people scampering for their cricket rule books to check on the legality of that catch. White was given out by the umpire, but the cricket fraternity continued to discuss and debate that catch long after the match was over.

Is the catch legal? Watch and decide.

Even Glenn Maxwell was stumped after Lalor took that catch

After plenty of impassioned Twitter discussions, there was finally some clarity about the rules convincing everyone, including Maxwell, of  Lalor's catch being legal and that the umpires were correct.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions